Governors Set To Nominate Team To Interface With NASS On State Police

By; SUNDAY ODE,  Abuja
The Nigeria Governors Forum (NGF) meeting is currently ongoing in the State House Conference Center, Abuja.
Reliable sources have hinted that the governors are to nominate a team from among them to interface with the National Assembly the proposed creation of State Police.
It could be recalled that at the end  of a two-day summit on national security organised by the Senate, state governors and the federal parliament had agreed to allow states to establish their police.
Vice President Yemi Osinbajo had suggested at the opening of the event on Thursday that state police was “the way to go.”
Other issues on the agenda for the governors’ Wednesday night meeting  include the recovery of stamp duties and Improving Internally Generated Revenue (IGR) through harmonized motor registry/traffic management system by Dimensions Information Technology.
The meeting which started at 9pm is presided over by the NGF Chairman and Zamfara State Governor, Abdulazeez Yari.
The first meeting for the year held on January 17th and the governors  were briefed by the constitutional amendment committee headed by Governor Rauf Aregbesola of Osun State, health agenda for 2018 which was meant to get their commitment to universal health care coverage, polio eradication and nutrition among others.
The governors were also briefed by the Minister of Finance, Kemi Adeosun on the finances due the state.
Those in attendance as at the time of filing this report were, governors of Bauchi, Mohammed Abubakar, Borno, Kashim Shettima, Kebbi, Atiku Bagudu, Kogi, Yahaya Bello, Kwara, Abdulfatah Ahmed, Jigawa, Ibrahim Hassan, Ekiti, Rotimi Akeredolu, Kaduna, Nasir El-Rufai, Nasarawa, Tanko Al-makura, Kano, Abdullahi Ganduje.
The deputy governors in attendance are Benue, Benson Abounu, Ebonyi, Kelechi Igwe, Enugu, Cecelia Ezeilo, Plateau, Sonni Gwanle Tyoden, Osun, Titi Laoye-Tomori, Rivers, Ipalibo Banigo, Ogun, Yetunde Onanuga, Akwa Ibom, Moses Ekpo Ekiti, Kolapo Olusola, Sokoto, Ahmed Aliyu,  and Lagos, Dr. Oluranti Adebule.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here