Desired attention: ASUU ‘ll continue to engage govt


Desired attention: ASUU ‘ll continue to engage govt
By; Bayo Akamo, Ibadan.
The Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) will continue to engage government towards ensuring that Nigerian educational institutions get the desired attention.
Newly elected ASUU Chairman for the University of Ibadan Chapter of the union, Dr Ayodeji Omole said this in his acceptance speech while speaking after his election together with other executives of the union.
Dr Omole stressed that ASUU under his leadership would be more committed into ensuring that the welfare of academic staff is not negotiable as well as to ensure that no upright lecturer is victimized.
According to him, Dr Omole being elected as ASUU boss is not a tea-party for non-committed members to mount for selfish interests, adding that there is the need for all those who lost in the election to work with the new executives to reposition university of Ibadan into an enviable pride for all Africans.
Promising to carry all ASUU members along, Dr Omole declared that collective struggle yield more results than individual ambitions adding that ASUU will continue to engage government to ensure that Nigeria educational institutions get the desired attention.
Dr Omole polled 485 votes to defeat former President of Medical and Dental Consultants Association of Nigeria (MDCAN), Dr Steven Ayodele Oluwole ‎who polled 288 votes. While Dr Peter Olapegba of the Department of Psychology polled 519 votes to beat Dr Olisa Muojama ‎of the department of History who scored 235 votes to become the new Bbranch Secretary.
Dr Adedapo Adewole polled 469 votes to emerge the new Vice-Chairperson after defeating Dr Adenike Ogunshe ‎ who polled 293 votes. Dr Monika Odinko ‎scored 517 votes to defeat Dr Princess Nwakwo to emerge Welfare Secretary, Dr Olusola Olawoye scored 493 votes to beat Dr Ishola Salami to emerge as Financial Secretary. And Dr Isaac ‎Olufemi Olatoye with 508 votes emerged new Investment Secretary.
Others are Dr Adebayo Komolafe as the PRO, Dr Olufemi Ayoola, Treasurer. Dr Frederick Olore Oshiname, Internal Auditor, and Dr Akewula Adams, Assistant Secretary.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here