Akwa Ibom-SWAN Chairman, Others Get 2nd Term Mandate



In a free, fair and credible election, the Akwa Ibom State Chapter of Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN), new executive council has been installed for another tenure of three years service.

The sitting chairman, Comrade Emmanuel Akpan alongside four other members of the former exco, who include comrades Anthony Effiong as Vice Chairman, Theophilus Udo as Secretary, James Akpan as Assistant Secretary and Patrick Titus as Treasurer, were reelected, returned unopposed.

The election held on Wednesday at the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) Press Centre, Information Drive, Uyo, was supervised by the National President of SWAN, Honour Sirawoo, who was represented by the South-South Vice President, Otuekong Bonny Nyong.

Reacting on behalf of the new executive, Comrade Emmanuel Akpan thanked members of the Association for finding him and his executive worthy of reelection, while promising that they would do more to make Akwa Ibom SWAN great.

“First of all, I thank God for another opportunity to serve as Chairman of SWAN, Akwa Ibom State Chapter.

“I am grateful to members for reelecting me for another term, unopposed. I promise that I and my exco will do more than we did during our first tenure. Welfare of our members will remain a priority.”

Akpan also applauded the Electoral Committee (SWANECO) led by former South-South Vice President of SWAN, Justice Udousoro for conducting a peaceful and transparent election.

Emmanuel Akpan’s first term witnessed strong synergy with 30 sports associations while members also enjoyed robust welfare packages among other incentives, all tailoring at improved reportage of sporting activities in the state.

Goodwill messages were given by various personalities present. All

congratulated Emmanuel Akpan and his executive on their reelection, and urged them to do more in their second term which runs till 2026.

They include, former SWAN Chairman – Professor Uwem Akpan, NUJ Chairman – Comrade Amos Etuk, South-South Vice President of SWAN and representative of the National President, Otuekong Bonny Nyong, former SWAN Chairman, Uwem Ekoh, board member of the Nigeria Weightlifting Federation, Mr. Lawrence Iquaibom, Chairman of the Akwa Ibom State Football Association, Samuel Umoh, Chairman of the Federated Chapel of the NUJ, Nsibiet John

The new executive who took oaths of office and allegiance and were issued certificates of return, later treated members to a love feast.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here