State Electoral Commission: Oyo Assembly clears 7, drops Sch Principal


By; Bayo Akamo, Ibadan.
Oyo State House of Assembly thursday cleared seven of the eight members nominated as members of Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC) by Governor Abiola Ajimobi.
However, there was a mild drama during the screening exercise as one of the cleared members said to be a retired Vice-Principal was unable to recite the National Anthem.
The drama started when the OYSIEC nominee was asked to recite the national anthem but could not recite such due to his being nervous during the screening session but was later cleared having answered some other questions asked by the members of the Assembly.
The Speaker, Honourable Michael Adeyemo in his comment during the session stressed that the nominees should be screened and cleared based on the personality and not the questions.
The nominees cleared during the screening are Mr Adewole Ajeigbe as Chairman, Sunday Aborisade, Adedeji Raimi, David Adeagbo, Omolola Odekunbi, AbdulRazaq Akuru and Rasheed Oyekanmi while the only nominee dropped at the screening was Bello Lateef, a serving school Principal.
Speaking with journalists on the screening, the Chairman, House Parliamentary Caucus,  Hon. Segun Ajanaku (APC-Ibadan South West) said Lateef was dropped because he confirmed that he was still a serving principal in state public service, saying, a member of OYSIEC must not be a civil servant or a member of any political party.
According to him, the serving Principal was dropped in line with the stipulated law.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here