Ekiti Assembly Passes Bill For Creation Of 3 Additional LCDAs



Ekiti State House of Assembly has passed the bill for the creation of three additional Local Council Development Area, (LCDAs) in the state.

The passage followed the adoption of the report of the House Committee on Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs.

The new additional LCDAs are: Eso Obe, with headquarters at Ikoro-Ekiti, Ikole, with headquarters at Usin-Ekiti and Ayede, with headquarters at Ayede-Ekiti.

The report on the bill titled, A Bill for A Law for the Creation of Three Local Council Development Areas in Ekiti (Amendment) Bill, 2022, was submitted by the Chairman, House Committee on Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Hon Tope Ogunleye.

The Committee recommended that the headquarters of the present Igbara Odo/Ogotun LCDA should be moved from Oke Agbe to Igbara Odo and also urged the government to look at the yearnings of Osi Ekiti people and its environs on the creation of Osi LCDA out of existing Ido Osi Local government.

Also at the plenary, the bill for A Law to Repeal and Re-Enact the Ekiti Polytechnic, Isan-Ekiti,2022 was passed.

The House adopted the report of the House Committee on Education, Science and Technology submitted by its Chairman, Hon Kemi Balogun

Meanwhile, the House at the plenary committed the Ekiti Local Government Administration Bill, 2022 to its Committee on Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs for further legislative scrutiny.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here