2015 Unity Carnival Polo: Rubicon beat‎ DEFCOM to win high goal trophy By; Jacob Onjewu Dickson


2015 Unity Carnival Polo: Rubicon beat DEFCOM to win high goal trophy
By Jacob Onjewu Dickson
Rubicon Polo team on Sunday defeated DEFCOM 6½ – 3 to win the giant high goal trophy at this year’s Nigeria National Carnival Polo tournament which attracted over 16 clubs across the country.
In the finals of the high goal category, the DEFCOM ‎Polo team spearheaded by Bello Buba (+4) the country’s highest ranked player fought gallantly but could not withstand the onslaught from Sen. Hadi Sirika’s Rubicon who carted away the coveted trophy.
The match‎ played before a capacity crowd at the serene Guards Brigade Polo Club, Abuja saw ‎the umpire, Mustapha Junaid awarded ½ a goal advantage to DEFCOM to level the team’s handicap difference before the start of the match.
Idris Badamasi was undoubtedly the day’s star performer as he was virtually the brain behind all the chances created and scored by Rubicon.
‎The inspirational Badamasi was first to get on the score sheet after Muktar Adhama fruitlessly miscued his mallet and failed to prevent his 30 yards shot from crossing the line. Jamilu Mohammed added a second goal for Rubicon ‎a minute later when he converted a penalty from the 60-yard corner area to make it 2 – ½‎ at the end of the first chukka.
The second Chukka however saw a rejuvenated DEFCOM assert its presence in the game as they looked to prove that they were no pushovers.
A lovely combination of Buba and Suleiman Bello ‎saw two brilliant goals scored by the latter in quick succession for DEFCOM but Rubicon scored another superb goal of their own through Abdulmalik Badamasi ‎who ensured it ended 3 – 2½‎ ‎at the end of the period.
In other matches played, Mambilla Polo team clinched the Guards Challenge Cup after whipping eventual runners up Mogadishu 7-2. Y.B. Farms defeated Terra E & P 4 – 3 to finish as runners up in the low goal category while VALDA Polo team emerged winners of the low goal title. Almat Group won the medium goal title after narrowly beating Trade Mark 6 – 4, while Trade Mark finished as runners up.
Meanwhile, NSK who had earlier beaten Dabon Kano by 5 – 3½‎ ‎goals on Saturday emerged winners of the Shehu Kangiwa Memorial Cup, while Dabon Kano finished as runners up. The Most Valuable Player (MVP) award went to Rubicon’s Idris Badamasi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here