IDGS Founders’ Day:  Makinde Changing Fortunes Of Education  For Better In Oyo State – Senator Babalola


*Alumni launches n100million school road, gate projects, inaugurates New National Exco

By; BAYO AKAMO, Ibadan 

The Old Students of Iseyin District Grammar School, Iseyin (IDGS) over the weekend, launched a hundred million Naira fund raising campaign to construct the school’s road and redesign its main entrance gate.

Speaking at the event which was part of the 60th Anniversary of the school, chairman of the occasion, an alumnus, Senator Gbenga Babalola lauded Gov Seyi Makinde’s dedication to change the fortunes of the education sector for the better in Oyo State 

Senator Babalola specifically urged the Gov Makinde-led administration to do more in the area of physical infrastructure for public schools in and across the state.

” We are happy to celebrate IDGS at sixty and we have seen wonderful jobs that have been done by every set among the alumni to give the school its present enviable condition, we are rededicating ourselves to serve the school more as it has served us in the past”, he said.

Senator Babalola added, “ While appreciating the executive governor of Oyo State for his efforts to make education affordable and effective through policies and proper funding, we appeal for more, like Oliver Twist, we also call on the old and new sets of alumni at home and in diaspora to continue to support the school, this we shall achieve, God willing.”

The chairman of the event then charged all alumni of IDGS at home and in diaspora to rededicate themselves to the development of the school’s infrastructure, students and members of staff’s welfare.

The event also witnessed the inauguration of the newly-elected national executive officers of the association, with Alhaji Ademola Dauda as the National President and Dr Femi Oyediran as the Secretary General.

Others are Mrs Felicia Shiyanbola, National Vice-President, Comrade Wasiu Ademola, Assistant General Secretary, Mr. Alhazan Abiodun, National Publicity Secretary and Mrs Rashidat Gambari as the National Treasurer, Mrs Yetunde Olona as the National Financial Secretary, Mr. Liadi Adeyinka as National Auditor, Mrs Aliu Alice as National Social Secretary, Chief Ademola Bamidele as Ex-officio 1 and Dr. Toyosi Raheem as Ex-officio 2.

Dignitaries at the event included the former Honorable representing Iseyin, Itesiwaju, Kajola And Iwajowa, Abiodun Olasupo, the representative of State Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology, Engr. Bayo Salam, community and religious leaders.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here