newsWith Akala, Folarin, Defection to APC, No More Opposition...

With Akala, Folarin, Defection to APC, No More Opposition In Oyo State – Tinubu


Governor Rauf Aregbesola, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu and Governor Abiola Ajimobi at Mapo hall on Saturday December 16, 2017. Photo: BAYO AKAMO


By; BAYO AKAMO, Ibadan

It was a bumper harvest for the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) in Oyo State as former governor of the state, Otunba Adebayo Alao-Akala, his former deputy, Ambassador TaofeeK Arapaja, former Senate leader, Senator Teslim Folarin and other prominent politicians in the state defected to the party.

Welcoming the defectors  from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Labour Party (LP) and Accord party  to the APC , the party’s National leader, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu
declared that the end has come for the opposition political parties  in Oyo state.

Asiwaju Tinubu emphasized that it is now glaring that in Nigeria presently,  “APC is the only available party in Nigeria”

“Opposition is finished in Oyo State. The belly of their fish is already smiling at the sun. Today is  very important for us as it is the birthday of our Governor in the State, Senator Abiola Ajimobi who has broken the jinx of second term in the State. I thank my friend Alao-Akala; I thank the former Senate Leader Teslim Folarin; I thank Chief Ayodele Adigun and all others for building this House (APC). We are proud of our party. It is the only available party in Nigeria”, he said.

Leading the defectors into the APC, Otunba Adebayo Alao- Akala said PDP is now a dead political party  in and across Oyo state with the massive defection of political bigwigs in the state to the APC and that  there will be no going back in the party’s chance of retain the state in 2019.

“There is no more PDP in Oyo State. By God’s grace, the national echelon of the APC should be rest assured that Oyo State is intact for APC in 2019. I thank Governor Ajimobi for allowing us to come in.” he said

Otunba Akala added “I can boldly say without bragging that everyone defecting today had worked under me. All the four Labour Party lawmakers in the State House of Assembly are also here with me in APC. We shall all work for and support APC. Before, I had always been fighting my senior brother, Chief Akin Oke (the APC Chairman) anytime we had elections. But as on, he will be sending me on errands”.

In his comment, former Senate leader,Senator Teslim Folarin
said Governor Ajimobi has become a Transformer in the Oyo state political arena  that whoever wants to be something in Oyo State now like the time of late Alhaji Lamidi Adedibu, should connect to him.

Speaking the only PDP House of Representatives member in Oyo state, Honourable Olusegun Odebunmi said, “the fact that the only PDP Rep in Oyo and that I am decamping to APC today, all the youths of Oyo State should be assured that the only party that can guarantee their care is the APC. I have done my research and I have seen that it is the party that can take us to the Promised Land.”

Governor Abiola Ajimobi while speaking at  the rally  said warning any aspirants into any position in Oyo should recognise him and come to him, saying “those of you aspiring to be somebody, don’t run to Asiwaju in Lagos. Asiwaju does not need your money.”.

” Come to me. Don’t shirt-circuit because I am the Quantic Prophet Muhammed of Oyo State. The local government elections are coming in March next year and we are going to winchester all. All other parties in the State are now moribund leaders are political pensioners”.

Prominent among the defectors are Senator Brimo Yusuff, former  Secretary to State Government under the administration of Governor Rasidi Ladoja, Dr Ayodele Adigun ,  former Oyo State PDP Charman Hon. Yinka Taiwo, former Oyo Speaker Alhaji Asimiyu Alarape, Mrs Olarewaju Otiti, Hon. Tajudeen Olarewaju, Kayode Akande, Mrs Kemi Jayeoba Olorunsogo, Alhaji Kehinde Olaosebikan (former CPS to late Governor Lamidi Adesina). Hon. Ademola Ojo,  Hon. Folake Olunloyo-Osinowo, among others.

The  Labour Party members that in the Oyo State House of Assembly that defected into APC are  Honourables Tunji Ojo, Joshua Oyebamiji, Lukman Balogun.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest news

Gombe: Governor Inuwa Yahaya To Help Youth Harness Potentials – DG Media

By; JACOB ONJEWU DICKSON Gombe State Governor, Muhammadu Inuwa Yahaya is committed to creating environment where the younger generation can...

Kogi As A Question-mark On Our Collective Conscience

By; CHRIS MUSTAPHA NWAOKOBIA Is the young man that superintend the State of Kogi from the Lugard House in Lokoja...

NEDC Moves To Rehabilitate 84km Bauchi-Gombe Road With N32bn

By; JACOB ONJEWU DICKSON Bauchi State Governor, Bala Mohammed has disclosed that the federal government through the Federal Ministry of...

Federal Medical Centre Idi-Aba Would Have Suffered 20-Years Setback If Musa Olomu Wasn’t Reappointed — Elder Statesman

By; JACOB ONJEWU DICKSON An elder statesman and renowned accountant, Chief M. Ola - Yusuf has postulated that the Federal...
- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img

British High Commissioners Visit, A Step In Right Direction – Maianguwa

By; JACOB ONJEWU DICKSON The Senior Special Assistant on Liaison to Engr. Abdullahia Sule Hon. Yusuf Jibrin Maianguwa has said...

Gbajabiamila Promises To Continue Advocating Youth Inclusion In Governance

By; AMOS MATHEW, Kaduna The Speaker of the House of Representatives, Rep. Femi Gbajabiamila, has said that he remains...

Must read

Religious regulation; Cleric cautions Gov El- Rufai

By; Raymond Tedunjaye, Lagos A Lagos base cleric, Dr. Chris...

No mass killing took place in Benue – Gov Ortom

By; JACOB ONJEWU DICKSON Benue State Governor Dr. Samuel Ortom...

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you