We won’t bury Olubadan in secrecy – OYSG


We won’t bury Olubadan in secrecy – OYSG
By; Bayo Akamo, Ibadan.
Oyo State Government has said the remains of the late Olubadan of Ibadanland, Oba Samuel Odulana, Odugade will not be buried in secrecy.
Former Secretary to Oyo State Government and Chairman of the burial committee for the Late Oba Odulana, Alhaji Olalekan Alli dropped this hint while addressing journalists at  Mapo Hall, Ibadan, on the activities for the burial of the late monarch.
According to the former SSG, the remains of Late Oba Odulana is to be laid in state to prove that his body is intact as a devoted Christian who lived all his life to serve God and humanity, .
He stressed that the remains of the late Oba Odulana will be laid in state in three different locations before the final burial, adding that the committee met severally and consulted all stakeholders widely before coming up with  a nine-day activities starting from February 5 to 14, 2016
“On February 5, there would be Jumm’at prayer at Oja’ba Central Mosque, on Sunday, February 7, Service of songs at Cathedral Church of St’ Peters, Aremo, on Febuary 8, Lying in State at Igbo-Elerin Grammar School, February 9, Symposium at University of Ibadan, on February 10, Lying in State and tribute at Mapo hall, on February 11, lying in State by Oyo State Government at House of Chiefs, Secretariat. On February 12, Funeral service and reception for guests at recreation centre, Ibadan, and on February 14, thanksgiving at Cathedral of St Peters, Aremo,” he said.
Alhaji Alli however urged all Ibadan residents to be peaceful and ensure responsible attendance during the burial ceremony, saying, “it is the wish of the government that our departed monarch, deserving of our honour and celebration, is given a befitting burial in line with our positive pace-setting cognomen”.
Other members of the burial committee are the state Head of Service, Special Advisers, Permanent Secretaries, representative of the Central Council of Ibadan Indigenes, representatives of the Olubadan-in-Council and government officials from the 11 local government areas in Ibadanland.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here