UNILAG Stuns All, Lifts AMK/NUGA 3X3 Basketball Trophy



The University of Lagos (UNILAG) male team have emerged champions of the maiden edition of the Ahmadu Musa Kida (AMK) Foundation/Nigeria University Games (NUGA) 3X3 Basketball  Competition in a final decided in Abuja.

They beat neighbours, University of Ibadan (UI) in the final game to claim the trophy as well as qualify to represent Nigeria at the World University Tournament.

Basketball power house, Ahmadu Bello University (ABU)settled for the bronze medal.

In the female category, Bayero University Kano (BUK) subdued fellow northern team, University of Ilorin (UNILORIN) to pick the gold, leaving the latter with the silver.

University of Ibadan again, put up a good fight to settle for the bronze medal.
ABU defeated Nasssrawa to pick bronze in men and UI defeated UNIZIK.
Minister of Sports, Barrister Solomon Dalung, who was the Special Guest of Honour,  lauded AMK Foundation as shining example of what NGO’s can do to promote youth empowerment through sports.
He confirmed readiness of Govt to reforming the sports sector insisting that the only pathway to growth will be through the grassroots.
He also thanked NUGA for expanding its programs beyond the biannual sporting festival.
AMK Foundation President Engr Musa Ahmadu Kida in his speach expressed the readiness of the Foundation to remain commited to its foundation goals  of empowering the youths through education and sports, saying that the investment in NUGA basketball is a continuation of that service.
He confirmed the interest of the foundation to solidify the partnership with NUGA going further into other Basketball enterprises.
NUGA President Professor Stephen Hamafyelto expressed gratitude to AMK for the sponsorship urging other private stakeholders to follow suit.
He also canvassed for adequate funding for NUGA from Govt to ensure that the sporting sector within the university system remains vibrant.

Other side events at the occasion were a slam dunk competition, freethrows and a 3pts shoot out. Most valuable player awards were given to outstanding male and female players.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here