Senator Wamakko Advocates Stringent Supervision Of Varsities In Nigeria By NUC


Senator Aliyu Magatakarda Wamakko

Senator Aliyu Magatakarda Wamakko, representing Sokoto North Senatorial District has advocated stringent supervision of Universities in the country by the National Universities Commission( NUC).
This is to ensure that these institutions are not compromised in the bid to achieve some selfish interests.
This is contained in a statement signed by his Special Assistant on Media and Publicity, Bashir Rabe Mani and issued to newsmen in Sokoto on Saturday.
The statement said that, Senator Wamakko who is also the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Basic and Secondary Education,  spoke in Abuja during the presentation of provisional licences to six additional private Universities.
Senator Wamakko averred that, Universities in Nigeria, as well as other tertiary institutions should strive to maintain the standards and solid foundations provided for the nation’s education system by the founding Fathers.
” Our elders had worked relentlessly to provide a formidable foundation for the education and we should sustain that enviable feat.
” This is crucial as regrettably many qualified candidates now cannot gain admission into the Universities, hence, get indulged in some unwholesome activities.
” Establishing more Universities will therefore help in drastically curbing the ugly trend, as such, train more future leaders for the country and the world, at large .”
The statement further quoted Senator Wamakko as commending the Minister of Education, Mallam Adamu Adamu and the Commission for attaining the feat.
He specifically lauded the Nigerian Navy for establishing its own University and urged other sister Services, as well as security agencies to emulate it.
The statement said that, the six new  Universities were : Admiralty University in Ibusa, Delta state, owned by the Naval Holding Company, Spiritan University in Nneochi, Abia state and Precious Cornerstone University in Ibadan.
Also approved are PAMO University of Medical Sciences, Port Harcourt, Atibe University in Oyo town, Oyo State and Eko University of Medical and Health Sciences, Lagos.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here