Onitolo Community, Ansar-Ud-Deen shine at Lagos T20 cricket tourney


Onitolo Community High School and Ansar-Ud-Deen Girls High School, Itire last Friday emerged champions of the 2016 Lagos T20 secondary schools cricket championship decided at the Cricket Oval of Tafawa Balewa Square, Lagos.
While Onitolo Community High School emerged the overall best boys’ team, Ansar-Ud-Deen Girls High School came first in the female category.
To be crowned champions, Onitolo High School, secured a narrow victory over Arkansan-Ud-Deen College, Isolo by recording a total of 62 runs for 4 wicket and 8 overs as against 59 runs for 6 wickets and 8 overs recorded by Arkansas-Ud-Deen College team.
In the female event, Ansar-Ud-Deen Girls High School, Itire defeated Surulere Girls Secondary School by 20 runs in 3 overs as against 19 runs in 6 overs by their opponent.
Chairman of Lagos State Sports Commission, who is also the Special Adviser on Sports to the Governor of Lagos State, Deji Tinubu was excited with the display of spirit of sportsmanship among the students and described the T20 tournament as one of many of such tournaments the Sports Commission plan to use to keep the youths busy.
“We want to create many opportunities to drive our youths in sports. Our target is also to have proper school sports in Lagos State because we believe this is where the future of sports lies, “he said.
Chairman of Lagos State Cricket Association, Ayodele Kwesi-Sagoe disclosed that a total of 17 schools comprising of eleven boys and six girls schools took part in the three day tournament. He said the competition was made possible through the facilitating support from Deji Tinubu-led Lagos State Sports Commission even as he expressed happiness with the large turnout of schools for the tournament which he believes will serve as an avenue to discover and groom future champions.
Outstanding students were awarded with various awards at the end of the competition. In the boy’s event, Mohammed Taiwo of Onitolo Community High School won both the Cricketer and Batman of the Series awards. Fielder of the Series was won by Fatti Mazzi of Ansar-Ud-Deen Grammar School. Wicket Keeper of the Series was won by Salako Ibrahim of Ansar-Ud-Deen Grammar School, while Bowler of the Series was won by Arigbabu Kehinde of Ansar-Ud-Deen College, Isolo.
In the girls category, the Cricketer and Bowler of the Series awards was won by Seaman Timi of Adebola Baptist High School, Fielder of the Series was won by Nelson Aminat of Ansar- Ud-Deen Girls High School, Itire, while Umeh Ifeoma of Onitolo Community High School won Wicket Keeper and Batman of the Series awards.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here