ONDO NAWOJ elects new officers


The National Association of Women Journalists (NAWOJ), Ondo State chapter, has elected a new Executive to run the affairs of the Association for the next three years.
Those elected at the NUJ Secretariat on Thursday were, Mrs. Sola Omotosho as Chairperson, Mrs Doris Olumoko – Vice Chairman, Mrs. Abooluwa Famajkinwa – Seceetary, Mrs. Tela Gbadamosi – Assistance Secretary, Mrs. Okuqatosin Ighaoteguaro – Financial Secretary, and Mrs. Mary Agidi – Treasurer.
The inauguration was witnessed by the National Resident of NAWOJ, Mrs. Omowole Ifeayiwa, the Vice President and the Secretary ‘B’ Zone, the NUC Chairman Ondo State Council and many veteran journalists.
In her welcome address, the Chairman of Electoral Committee, Mrs. Bimbo Akindunbi gave glory to God for the successful conduct of a hitch free election.
According to her, the occasion is a unique one in the sense that the former executives graciously bowed out thereby paving the way for a new set of Executives.
She however expressed disappointment that Women Journalists failed to turn out in large numbers as expected to contest election, adding that, ”the ongoing strike by Ondo State Workers might be responsible for that”.
In her acceptance speech, the new Chairperson, Mrs. Omotosho thanked members for the confidence reposed in her and her team to run the affairs of the Association for the next three years.
She promised to remain diligent and focused in the pursuit of taking the Association to a greater level and fight for the welfare of members in their various media Organisations.
Also, the National President, Mrs. Omowole Ifeayiwa charged the new executives to live to expectation by attending National assignments saying they should emulate the good work of their predecessors.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here