Ondo Guber: Sherif faction fixes August 23, 2016 for primary


The Ali Modu Sheriff led faction of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Ondo state  has fixed August 23, 2016 for its Primary election in preparation for November 26 governorship election.
Addressing aspirants and party members in Akure, the Chairman of the group, Hon. Biyi Poroye disclosed that three Delegates will be elected at the Ward levels as from August 16, 2016.
He assured the five aspirants who had paid the mandatory N13 million nomination fee of a level playing ground by conducting a free and fair primary where a credible candidate will emerge.
In his own contribution, one of the aspirants, Barr. Jimoh Ibrahim reiterated the fact that Alhaji Ali Modu Sheriff is the authentic Chairman recognised by law while those parading themseleves as Caretakers under Senator Ahmed Makarfi has no support of the party’s constitution.
According to him, Makarfi has five days to vacate office while Sheriff has the legal backing to remain in office till year 2018 as the Chairman of the party.
He however cautioned party members and other aspirants to remain friendly with the other group, ”since they are mobilising the electorates for them”.
He also advised that aspirants and party members in Sheriff camp to not frustrate Makarfi group to the extent of decamping to other political parties, ”since their continuous stay in PDP will make their work simple” at the end of the day.
Barr. Ibrahimm also assured of his readiness to work with any of the five contestants who might emerge victorious as the party’s candidate by August 23, 2016.
Other aspirants, Barr. Sola Ebiseni, Chief Niran Sule, Hon. Bamiduro Dada  and the only female aspirant, spoke in the same vein as they gave their vote of confidence on Modu Sheriff led group.
They also enjoined aspirants from other groups to think wisely by ”pitching their tents with Alhaji Ali Modu Sheriff before it is too late since Caretaker ship will soon fade away with time.
The meeting was well attended by party members from the 18 local governments of the state while Chief Alex Akinnadeju and Senator Remi Okunrinboye were among party Chieftains present.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here