Ondo Guber; How Akeredolu beats the odds to emerge APC Candidate


Barrister Rotimi Akeredolu (SAN), against all political manouvere has emerged the flag bearer of the All Progressives Congress (APC), for the November 26,2016 governorship election in Ondo state with the highest votes of 669.
He was followed by Mr. Olusegun Abraham who poled 637 votes, followed by Chief Olusola Oke with 576 votes while Senator Ajayi Boroffice polled 471 votes.
The primary election, which was chaired by the Jigawa State Governor, Alhaji Mohammed Badaru Abubakar was rated as the best, credible free and fair by all the 24 aspirants.
Accreditation of delegates commenced in three designated centers for the three Senatorial Districts as early as 8;00 am in Akure, the state capital.
As soon as accreditations were completed, from each center, delegates were conveyed to the Domes, the International events center where tight security were mounted to ensure free conduct of election.
Earlier, the Chairman of the electoral committee, Alhaji Badaru announced the submission of letter of withdrawal by one of the contestants, Mr. Akintelure Paul.
Even though it was rumoured that four aspirants withdrew from the race for the purported anointed candidate of National leaders of APC, it was only Mr. Akintelure who backed up his decision in writing.
The rumoured adoption of Mr. Segun Abraham nearly tore the party apart as some party executives kicked against it and called for the removal of Barr Isaac Kekemeke from office as state Chairman.
Unconfirmed report has it that, the former Governor of Lagos State, Senator Bola Ahmed Tinubu showed interest in the emergence of Senator Ajayi Boroffice as the next Governor of Ondo State.
This triggered off the anger of party members who vowed to determine who become the governor of their state without an outsider dictating to them.
No sooner than Barr Akeredolu was announced that other aspirants displayed their total support and acceptance of the result as they all embrace him one after the other.
The only woman among the aspirants, Chief (Mrs) Jumoke Anifowose – Ajasin who polled one vote joined others to congratulate the winner.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here