Local Government Transition Chairmen Parley Ogun Govt on hitch free-pools


The Ogun State Government is taking steps to ensure a smooth sail for its newly established 37 Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) in the state and has rubbed minds with the twenty Transition Committee Chairmen on the way forward.
The State Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Chief Olajide Ojuko speaking with newsmen after the meeting at Obas Complex, Oke-mosan, Abeokuta said the meeting was convened to identify issues and challenges which might likely confront the incoming LCDA Chairmen with a view of proffering solutions to them.
The Commissioner expressed optimism that the creation of LCDAs would further stabilise governance and bring it closer to the people, particularly at the grassroots for even development.
Ojuko pointed out that it was incumbent on LCDAs and Local Government Councils to engender a new revenue generation regime, independent of the federal allocation for the LCDAs to be accomplished and fulfil the purpose they were meant.
The Transition Chairman, Ijebu North East, Lord Banjou Deola, like others, commended the initiative of the Senator Ibikunle Amosun led administration on the creation of the additional 37 LCDAs, adding that the Local Government Councils would collaborate with the Local Government Service Commission to oversee areas of human resource, staff welfare, promotion and deployment of manpower to appropriate quarters for a people-oriented administration.
At the meeting, three committees were inaugurated at each Senatorial District to inspect and monitor the facilities on ground for the take-off of the LCDAs.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here