LG Polls: Oyo State Electoral Commission Releases Timetable


By; BAYO AKAMO, Ibadan

The Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission ( OYSIEC) over the weekend released the timetable for the May 12 elections into the 33local governments and the 35 Local Council Development Areas in the state.

OYSIEC in the time table signed by its Chairman , Mr Jide Ajeigbe declared that the elections time table was in pursuant to Section 15 and paragraph 1 (I) (a) and (b) Schedule 2 State Independent Electoral Commission Laws of Oyo State 2000,.

The OYSIEC Chairman in the time table called on all the registered political parties in Oyo state to purchase nomination forms on behalf of their candidates at the State commission headquarters at Agodi GRA, total garden, Ibadan.

According to the time table, Monday 5th-Wednesday 14th February, 2018 will be for the commencement of political activities including commencement of political campaign by political parties and conduct of parties primaries by political parties with observation of same by the commission.

He added that Thursday 15th-Tuesday 20th, February, 2018 will be for collection of Personal Data form for candidates by political parties while “Wednesday 21st-Saturday 25th, February 2018 is for submission of Personal Data form for candidates by political parties”.

“Wednesday 28th-Saturday 4th, March, 2018 is for verification/screening of Councillorship candidates while Tuesday 6th-Saturday 10th, March, 2018 for verification/screening of Chairmanship candidates.” he said

Mr Ajeigbe in the time table stressed that ” Monday 12th March, 2018 is for delivery of list of qualified candidates to political parties by OYSIEC. Wednesday 14th-Saturday 18th March, 2018 is for appeals/substitution of uncleared candidates, and screening of Ad-hoc staff by OYSIEC.”

“Tuesday 20th-Saturday 24th March, 2018 is for screening of substituted candidates by OYSIEC. Monday 25th-Thursday 29th March, 2018 is for collection of nomination forms  by all cleared candidates.
Wednesday 4th-Saturday 14th April, 2018 is submission of nomination forms by all cleared candidates. Friday 20th, April 2018 is publication of names of qualified candidates.

The Oyo state electoral Commission Chairman maintained that ‘ Wednesday 25th April-Saturday 5th May, 2018 is submission of names and addresses of party agents to the commission, and publication of notice of polls. Friday 11th, May 2018 is end of electioneering campaign by 12 midnight.” while
“12th May, 2018 is election day between 8.00am-3.00pm”

Mr Ajeigbe however assured that OYSIEC would conduct a credible, free and fair election under a peaceful and conducive environment, saying, “while assuring the good people of Oyo state of our commitment to be an impartial and unbiased umpire, I wish to appreciate all stakeholders for your patience, continuous cooperation, understanding and support. “


  1. application for the post of collating officer
    I here by applying for the collating officer for the incoming Local government election which is coming up on 12/05/2018.
    I will be great full if my application is considered


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here