Lagos NUJ Sub-committee On Constitution Review Submits Report


The seven-member

sub-committee on Constitution Review inaugurated by the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ), Lagos State Council under the leadership of Mr Adeleye Ajayi has submitted its report to the council on Wednesday in Lagos.
Speaking at the presentation of the report to the Council, Mr. Slyva Okereke, Chairman of the committee, gave his remarks.
“Just last week, the leadership of Lagos Council inaugurated a 7-member sub-committee to thoroughly x-ray the NUJ constitution and make recommendations that will better the Union at large.
“The sub-committee met repeatedly in order to work towards achieving the mandate before it within the time frame.
“We have seriously worked and i can tell you that each meeting we met to discuss lasted minimum of four hours.
“Some members of the Union outside the committee also gave rich contributions that made us achieved a report that will stand the test of time.l,” Okereke said.
He also appreciated the Council for having firm belief and trust in it, while discharging its duties seamlessly, saying that no constitution review was perfect.
In his response, Lagos NUJ Chairman, Mr Adeleye Ajayi commended members of the sub-committee for a job well done.
“We made no mistake in selecting these individuals for their vast knowledge and experience in NUJ affairs.
“I am proud of you all and I can assure you that  this is the begining of your assignments for the council” Ajayi said.
Ajayi also appreciated other members of Lagos Council for their robust contributions towards achieving a comprehensive report which would be forwarded to the National constitution review committee headed by Mr. Dele Atunbi, the National Treasurer of the union.
Other members of the sub- committee are: Mr Sadiq Martins, Mr. Olisa Egbunike, Mr Edwin Nwachukwu, Ms Jemi Ekunkunbor, Mrs Adeola Ekine and Mr.Alfred Odifa; Secretary of the committee.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here