Kogi Assembly Suspends 9 Members, 8 LG Chairmen Over Terrorism, Anti-party  Allegations 


By;  ADAMA JOHN,  Lokoja

Nine members of Kogi State House of Assembly have been suspended based on allegations of terrorism, while eight council chairmen and three vice chairmen were also suspended for alleged anti-party activities.

Also the Council chairman of Lokoja Local Government Area, Hon Dansabe Muhammed has been suspended on allegations of misappropriation of funds  amounting to about N150 million.

Reading both letters at plenary session, the Speaker, Prince Mathew Kolawole said the correspondence from the governor alleged that the lawmakers were involved in terrorist activities based on a security report while the correspondence from the state All Progressives Congress (APC) chairman, alleged that the chairmen and some vice chairmen carried out anti-party activities in the just concluded elections.

Contributing to debate on the allegation levelled against them, the Deputy Speaker, Rt Hon Alfa Rabiu Momoh Ankpa II  State Constituency, supported the suspension of  the lawmakers, saying the state is bigger than any personal interest and that lawmakers should not be found contravening the law.

Also, Hon Collins Musa, Omala State Constituency aligned himself with the Deputy Speaker, arguing that the issue that borders on terrorism is too great to be swept under the carpet.

The House, therefore, placed the nine lawmakers on suspension until investigation is concluded.

The suspended lawmakers include Daniya Rayin of Bassa constituency,  Muktar Bajeh, Okehi constituency, Kilani Olumo, Ijumu constituency, Moses Akande, Ogori-Magongo constituency, Lawi Ahmed, Okene One, Constituency Atule Igbunu, Ibaji Constituency, Suleiman Attajachi Musa, Idah Constituency,  Aderonke Aro, Yagba West Constituency and Bello Hassan Abdullahi, Ajaokuta Constituency.

The suspended chairmen with their vice chairmen, include, Ogori-Magongo, Kabba-Bunu, and Bassa, while those with suspended chairmen are Yagba West, Adavi, Ajaokuta, and Ibaji.

The suspension of the lawmakers followed a correspondence from Governor Yahaya Bello to the Speaker,  while that of the council chairmen and vice chairmen was based on a correspondence from the State APC chairman, Abdullahi Bello.

Meanwhile, a seven-man ad hoc  committee headed by the Deputy Speaker, Rt Hon Rabiu  was set up by the House to investigate those on suspension. The committee Secretary is  Bayero Jiya.

In another development, the House also placed the Council boss of Lokoja Local Government Area, Hon Dansabe Muhammed on suspension, based on allegation of misappropriation of funds which amounts to about N150 million.

The councillors and the vice chairman had written a letter accusing the council boss of reckless financial spending and misappropriation of funds without recourse to legal order.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here