Kano Wins Ramat Cup, 2017


By; Ayo Ojedokun, Lagos.
Kano State has won this year edition of the annual Genaral, Muritala Mohammed tournament popularly known as Ramat Cup.
In an entertaining encounter decided at Kano Pillars stadium last weekend.
Kano state defeated hard fighting Kogi state 2-0 to be crowned winner of the 35th edition of the Championship and cart away the giant trophy and a cash prize of #50,000. While the first runners up went home with #30,000. In the third placed match earlier decided ,JIGAWA state defeated Kaduna by 4-3 penalty after their game ended 1-1 at a regulation time and went home with #20,000 for their efforts.
Presenting the trophy to the winners Governor of Kano state who was represented by the state secretary to the state Government, Alhaji Usman Alhaji has commended YSFON for its leading role in grassroots football development in the country.
The finals which attracted a large crowd drew some important personalities such as representative of the chief of Army staff Brig. Gen.Akinjobi, representative of chief of defence staff AVM,Dayo Adeluoye, Chairman,Kano state sports Commission, Alhaji, Ibrahim Galadima,former supper Eagles handler,Samson Siasia and senator Oscar Obi amongst other.
Highlight of the final was a 4*100 relay race at half time which was won by JIGAWA state followed by Kogi, Kaduna and Kano.
Speaking shortly after the finlas and on the relay race, YSFON President,Nasiru Gawina, described it as part of the Federation activity even as he commended all the participating states for exhibiting good spirits of sportsmanship within and outside the filled of play
Meanwhile, this year’s edition has recorded a total of 22 states from across the country.
It would be recalled that it is the highest number of teams recorded in recent time.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here