Kaduna 2023: NNPP Drags INEC To Court, Want APC Governorship Candidate Disqualified


By; AMOS TAUNA, Kaduna

The Kaduna State New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP) has dragged the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to court, praying for the disqualification of Senator Uba Sani, the gubernatorial candidate of the All Progressive Congress (APC) over alleged electoral irregularities
in the primary election held on May 27, 2022.

The case came up for mention before Justice Hadiza R. Shagari of the Federal High Court, Kaduna on Friday, with all the parties asking for extension of time to enable them prepare and respond to the motion on service accordingly.

The NNPP legal team was led by Mr. Wole Agunbiade (SAN) and the APC had Barrister Sule Shuaibu while INEC counsel was Barrister Halima Gachi.

Justice Shagari, therefore, adjourned the case for hearing on September 15, 2022.

While speaking to newsmen through one of his legal teams shortly after the court sitting, Wole Agunbiade explained that they want to ensure that INEC does the right thing, saying that INEC shouldn’t have published the name of the candidate because APC did not conduct valid primary election.

He further explained that the court should have compelled INEC to do the right thing.

He emphasized, “NNPP is challenging the conduct of APC primary election for governorship held on May 27, 2022. APC adopted direct primary where all the wards Congress must be conducted but instead the party selected few delegates to conduct the election. They violated the rules of direct primary. They adopted consensus and so the delegates are not known to the law.”

Senator Uba Sani was declared winner of the Governorship primary election of the All Progressives Congress( APC) to represent the party in the 2023 election in Kaduna state.

On Friday, 27th May, 2022, about 2.am at the Umaru Musa Yar’Adua Hall, Murtala Square Kaduna where Senator Uba Sani was said to have defeated two other aspirants in the contest.

Senator Uba Sani polled 1, 149 votes to emerge winner while a former Assistant Controller General (ACG) of Customs, Bashir Abubakar scored 37 votes and Alhaji Mahmood Sani Shaaban polled ten votes .

A total of one thousand, two hundred and forty-five (1, 245) delegates were accredited, total votes of 1,235 cast, 1,196 were valid while invalid votes were 39.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here