Nigeria Paying Lecturers Very Poorly – ASUU


*Ibadan zone gives scholarship to 22 Indigent students

By; BAYO AKAMO, Ibadan
The Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) Ibadan zone on Wednesday alerted that Nigeria is the only country that pays its lecturers very poorly. Former ASUU National Treasurer, Professor Ademola Aremu raised the alarm while speaking at the presentation of scholarship to 22 students by the Ibadan zone ASUU under the ASUU Indigent Students Scholarship Scheme.
Professor Aremu stressed that it was unfortunate that those that benefitted from scholarships and free education during their time are now the one underfunding education in the country
“it is a pity that Nigeria is about the only country that pay her lecturers very poorly. Nigerian professors after spending 10years in professorial cadre earns about $800 even Republic of Benin pays around $2,000. Nigerian leaders only want to keep the poor down by denying them quality education to pave way for their children schooling abroad to come and rule them”, he said
Announcing the awards, the ASUU Ibadan Ibadan Zonal Coordinator Professor Oyebamiji Oyegoke said ASUU leadership directed that all chapters of the Union should institute the scholarship as a way of ensuring that Indigent but brilliant students are not denied quality education.
The ASUU Ibadan Zonal Coordinator stated  that ASUU National Secretariat ” is giving out scholarship worth N100, 000  per session to at least 73 students across all public universities while individual varsities also give awards to their Indigent students.
In his remarks shortly after presenting the awards, ASUU Financial Secretary , Professor Ade Adejumo urged Nigerians including those he alleged to have stolen from Nigeria and Nigerians to support the education of Indigent students so that they can realise their full potentials and contribute to National development.”
He stressed that the Union believes that being Indigent should not be a reason not to go to school.
 The presentation of the cheque was witnessed by  Professor Ayo Akinwole (UI), Dr Biodun Olaniran (LAUTECH), Dr Wasiu Raji (UNILORIN) and Shehu Salam (KWASU).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here