Ex NAATO President Scores Zaria Athletics Grand Prix High 



A former president of National Nigeria Association of Athletics Technical Officials ( NAATO),  Mr Goodluck Akpodeh has praised the organizers of the Zaria Athletics Grand Prix meet, reeling out its  many advantages to the athletes and the development of athletics.

Speaking at the Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) Sports Complex, the venue of the Grand Prix, Mr Goodluck said considering the fact that its the first this year, giving opportunity to the athletes to check their performance and fitness. 

“The organisers tried by providing  accommodation, feeding and cash price for the first, second and third placed athletes in the different events,” he said.

Reacting to people  talking about the grand prix not being a point scoring event for the athletes, he said the prix is not a league, but it serves as opportunity for the athletes to make money and take care of themselves in terms of kits and other things to do with their up keep.

According to him, most of the athletes are not properly taken care of by some state governments, especially those not employed by  the  government.

Buttressing Mr Goodluck’s advantages of the Zaria Athletics Grand Prix, Assistant Secretary of Kaduna Coaches Association, Mark Orduen, said the turnout would have been more than what was recorded 

In his words, “the event was scheduled for 18th and 19th of March but the change in date of the governorship election affected the turnout, a lot of athletes could not come around, despite that, the event will have a big impact on the athlete”.

He added that  it should be a thing of joy that such an event is coming and encouraged other stakeholders to emulate the organisers of the Zaria Athletics Grand Prix.

Meanwhile, below are some of the results from the Zaria Grand Prix’

 Shotput women

1st Aniefuna Anulika- 13.00m

2nd Uzuegbu Patricia- 11.20m

3rd Muhammed Salamatu- 10.17m

Triple jump men 

1st Kalu Chidozie- 15.91m

2nd Joel Iheakolam- 15.20m

3rd Orekevwie  Justin- 14.64m

1,500 metres men

1st Salisu Ibrahim- 4m 2sec.86

2nd Zakariya Sadiq- 4min 4 secs.09

3rd John Benjamin-4min 4sec.28

100metres Female

1st Haruna Hajara-11.63

2nd Ayenuro Taiye-11.80

3rd Blessing Ehi Ikpa-11.83

100metres Men

1st Oche Emmanuel-10.12

2nd Igube Chinemerem-10.13

3rd Monday Ebuka-10.35

800metres Female

1st James Comfort-2m 1sec

2nd Lydia Akusho-2m 13sec

3rd Verity Umaru-2m 18sec

Oche Emmanuel set a personal best in 100metres men

Long jump women 

1st oshopku grace – 6.09

2nd Ejiro ojoma – 5.68

3rd lekwot peace sonita- 5.60

Triple Jump Women

1st  Ejiro Ojoma- 13.22

2nd Oshopku Grace- 12.57

3rd Meekness  Dogonyaro- 12.29


1st Olusesan Temitope-56.04

2nd Ogundele Taiwo- 56.26

3rd Ovedje Gift Oke- 56.36

400M men

1st Samuel Japhet 

2nd Achakapoeri Victor- 47.50

3rd Akwaga Alphonsus -48.69

200m men 

1st Ayenuro Taiye – 24.28

2nd Hajara Haruna – 24.87

3rd Blessing Ehi ikpa 25.08

200m  MEN

1st Ogazi Samuel 20.73

2nd Enoch Jonathan 21.42

3rd Monday ebuka 21.46

5000 men

1st Salisu  Ibrahim  16.09.30

2nd Williams Sunday  16.09.32

Nemforth Mathais 16.10.88

Women invitation relay 4 x 100 

1st Favour Star  48.08

2nd  Dynamic Athletic 48.12

3rd CFASF 49.14


1ST Dynamic Athletic 41.08

2nd Team Niger Republic 41.93

3rd UNIJOS 42.98


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here