APC Sweeps Katsina LG Polls


Katsina State Independent Electoral Commission (SIEC) has released the results of  local government councils election conducted on Monday, April 11,2022  in the state with the ruling Party, All Progressive Congress (APC) emerged victorious of all the announced results.
Secretary of the Commission, Alhaji Lawal Alhassan Faskari disclosed this during a press briefing held at the commission’s headquarters in Katsina metropolis.
Alhaji Alhassan Faskari said that as at the time of the press briefing, the commission has received complete results from thirty one local government areas, three hundred and twenty eight wards, while awaiting that of Funtua and Daura.
Alhaji Faskari said elections in Dutsinma local government have been cancelled based on some irregularities and crisis, which forced the commission to evoke section 60 of the Katsina State Local Government Elections Law, 2002 to stop the process.
 Alhaji Lawal Alhassan  Faskari revealed that the election was keenly contested by 12 registered political parties.
 He announced that All Progressives Congress (APC)  won all the thirty one chairmanship and 28 councillor seats so far collected.
 He also announced the names of elected local government chairmen of the state as Bakori Local Government Area; Ali Mamman with eleven councilors, Batagarawa; Bala Garba with ten councilors, Batsari; Yusuf Mamman Ifo with eleven councilors, Baure; Murtala Adamu Pele with twelve councilors and Bindawa; Badaru Musa with eleven councilors.
Others include:- Kafur Local Government Area; Garba Abdullahi with ten councilors, Kaita; Bello Lawal with ten councilors, Kankara; Anas Isa with eleven councilors, Kankia; Musa Maikudi with ten councilors, Katsina; Aminu Ashiru with twelve councilors, Kurfi; Mannir Shehu with ten councilors and Kusada; Rabi’u Ali with ten councilors.
Other chairmen and councilors of the APC elected are Mai’adua; Mamman Salisu with ten councilors, Mani; Dr. Yunus Mohammed Sani with eleven councilors, Mashi; Salisu Kalla with eleven councilors, Matazu; Shamsu Mohammed with ten councilors and Musawa; Habibu Abdulkadir with eleven councilors.
The rest are Rimi Local Government Area; Nu’uman Imam Mohammed with ten councilors, Sabuwa; Faruk Hayatu with ten councilors, Safana; Muhammad Kabir Umar with ten councilors, Sandamu; Usman Nalado with eleven councilors and Zango; Ahmed Aliyu Babangida with ten councilors.
The results of Funtua and Daura local government councils were still been awaited as at the time of the briefing, while the result of Dutsinma was cancelled.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here