APC Claims 100% Victory In Edo Local Council Polls


The All Progressives Congress (APC) won all the available 18 chairmanship and 190 councillorship seats at the 2018 Edo State Local Government Elections held on Saturday across the state.
The APC candidates in the chairmanship and councillorship positions were declared winners by the chairman, Edo State Independent Electoral
Commission (EDSIEC), Professor Stanley Orobator at the commission secretariat, Benin City on Sunday.
Although the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) did not participate in the election, but 10 other political parties including the ruling-APC participated in the elections.
Others are: Action Democratic Party (ADP), Labour Party (LP), Democratic Alternatives (DA), Green Party of Nigeria (GPN); Democratic Peoples’ Party (DPP); National Conscience Party (NCP); Social Democratic Party (SDP); Peoples for Democratic Change (PDC), and Progressive People Alliance (PPA).
EDSIEC boss, Professor Orobator who announced the results, said the winners includes Comrade Destiny Enabulele – Ovia South West council with a total vote of 56, 664,  Ovia North East council was won by Osaze Ogbemudia with 41, 303 votes cast.
Other winners are Sylvester Okoro in Orihonmwon council with 47,442, John Akhigbe – Etsako Central with 22,235 votes just as Evbareke Jenkins
Osunde swept the Oredo council with 53,381 votes.
Also, Hon. Patrick Aguinede – Esan West with a total of 34,854,  Esan South-East was won by Victor Emuanhagbon while Etsako East council went to Aremiyau Momoh with 32,906 votes and Esan North East is Augustine Okoibkole who posted 24,127 votes.
Waziri Idemudia was elected as chairman of Esan Central Local Government council with 28,387 votes; Oteh Omoru won the Akoko-Edo council with 42, 471 votes while Musa Yakubu emerged winner of the Etsako West councils with 69,998 votes and Napoleon Agbama was declared chairman of Uhunwode council with 32, 292 votes.
Eric Osayande won the Ikpoba Okha council with a total of 68,296 votes; Josephat Ogedengbe Odia also was elected chairman of Igueben council having polled 25, 861 votes, just as Owan East council people elected Andrew Osigwe with 34,579 votes while Eghe Ogbemudia also swept Egor with 15,348 votes while Frank Ilaboya, Edo State got 28,406 votes to win the Owan West council.
Professor Orobator further disclose that the certificate of return would be given to those who have been duly declared winners in their respective councils by 3pm on Monday.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here