Anti-graft war: Sagay charges EFCC to be resolute


Chairman of the Presidential Advisory Committee on Corruption, Prof. Itse Sagay, SAN, has charged the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, not to relent in carrying out its mandate of riding the country of economic and financial crimes.
Sagay, who led some members of the committee to the EFCC headquarters in Abuja, on April 7, 2016 also stressed the pivotal role the anti-graft agency has to play in winning the war against corruption.
“The common interest of Nigerians is at stake, because corruption affects everyone, and we have the same objective, therefore you can rely on us to give you support in all ramifications,” he said.
While commending the EFCC boss, Ibrahim Magu, for rejuvenating the activities of the anti-graft agency, Sagay noted that there was still much more to be done.
“The energy you have brought in to the activities of the EFCC since your assumption of office has encouraged us, and we want you to continue to do more,” he said.
Re-echoing the views of Sagay, the committee’s secretary, Prof. Bolaji Owasanoye, stressed the importance of securing convictions in cases involving high profile individuals.
“We commend you for your efforts, but there is need to further enhance the good work you are doing by securing convictions in high profile cases,” he said.
Reassuring the committee of the Commission’s resolve not to relent in its efforts, Magu, used the opportunity to intimate the committee of some of the reforms he has initiated.
“We are restructuring the operations aspect of the Commission and weeding out the bad eggs,” he said. “We are also carrying the anti-corruption crusade to the grassroots.”
He added that the efforts of the agency were yielding results, noting that the EFCC was determined to get to the root of major corruption cases in the country, including the Halliburton case.
“We are getting back the confidence we have been lacking,” he said.
He further told the committee that the Commission was facing a major problem with regards to accommodation, and there was a need to have an Academy equipped to international standards.
According to Wilson Uwujaren, Head, Media & Publicity of the Commission, other members of the committee at the meeting include Prof. Sadiq Isa Radda, Prof. E. Alemika, Prof. Femi Odekunle, Ona Peters, Ola Olukayode, and Olusegun Odesina.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here