Alleged shabby treatment by Gov. Ajimobi; 20 of the 32 Oyo lawmakers boycott plenary By; Bayo Akamo, Ibadan


Alleged shabby treatment by Gov. Ajimobi; 20 of the 32 Oyo lawmakers boycott plenary 
By; Bayo Akamo, Ibadan
Fresh crisis is looming between members of the Oyo State House of Assembly and Governor Abiola Ajimobi as 20 of the 32 lawmakers in the House boycotted plenary sitting in protest of alleged shabby treatment and lack of concern for their welfare by the governor.
The situation according to sources close to the House forced the Speaker, Hon. Michael Adeyemo and 11 other members of the Assembly present at the floor of the House to adjourn after sitting for few minutes without forming quorum.
New Nigerian learnt that the boycott of plenary by the 20 lawmakers was as a result of the failure of the Speaker’s plea to the members to endure a little more until something would be done on issues of their welfare by the governor.
The aggrieved lawmakers were purported to have circulated a text message to their colleagues early in the morning informing them to boycott sitting to press home their demand for improved welfare.
It all started after the lawmakers reported in their offices given the Speaker the impression that they would file towards the legislative chamber for sitting, only for the 20 lawmakers to stay away as soon as the Speaker was ushered into the Chamber.
Sources said all moves by the other lawmakers in attendance to pacify their aggrieved colleague were however ignored, as they shunned all entreaties to make them attend the sitting, forcing the few available to sit only for few minutes.
A member of the House who attended the plenary while speaking with journalists, declared that the reason for the boycott was good but faulted the approach adopted by his colleague, saying, “none of the ranking members or the functionaries of the House was carried along.
“It is not good to divide the House. We have collectively agreed on the approach to adopt at the parliamentary caucus. The issue of welfare affects all of us. With this approach, they have sent the wrong signals. It is not good to jump the gun. Now, we must all sit down and resolve this matter. The House has been peaceful and we must maintain the peace”.
It will be recalled that the Oyo State House of Assembly is made up of 18 lawmakers from the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), eight from the Accord party and six from the Labour Party.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here