Oyo 2021 LG Polls: OYSIEC Scraps Payment Of Nomination Fees

Gov Makinde of Oyo State

*says no going back on May 22 date, elections to hold only in  recognised 33 LGs

By; BAYO AKAMO, Ibadan

With few days to the May 22  Local Government election in Oyo State, the  State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC) on Saturday cancelled payments of nomination fees earlier paid by candidates contesting in the elections 
Also, OYSIEC in a statement issued and signed  by the Electoral Commissioner in charge of Voter Education , Prince Afeez Adeniyi, vowed that the May 22, 2021 announced  by the commission as election date remains intact.
Prince Adeniyi in the statement pointed out that with the cancellation, the Commission is now to refund N50,000 each to all the  Councillorship candidates and N250,000 to each of the Chairmanship candidates contesting in the election 
” The Commission wishes  to seize this opportunity to  inform the general public and specially political parties  that our attention had just been drawn to the order of Oyo State High Court in Suit No.I/177/2004: NATIONAL CONSCIENCE PARTY V. OYO STATE INDEPENDENT ELECTORAL COMMISSION AND ANOR.  delivered on 18th March 2004 to the effect that sections 10 (b) (e) and (f) of the State Independent Electoral Commission Law of Oyo State contravene sections 7 (4), 106 and 107  of the Constitution of Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999(as amended).”, it said
Prince Adeniyi added, ” in the circumstance, the commission hereby cancels payment of nomination fees   of N50,000 for Councillorship candidates and N250,000 for Chairmanship candidates (as stated on Time Table and Guidelines for the Election) since the Constitution of Federal Republic takes precedence over any law or bylaws.”
While  stressing that the commission has released  names of screened and qualified Chairmanship and Councillorship Candidates of 17 political parties that signified  intentions to participate in the election, Prince Adeniyi urged all the political parties that have signified to participate in the elections to submit the names of their party agents in  the polling units, ward,collation centers and Local Government Collation Centers to OYSIEC offices in the 33 local government councils of Oyo State on or before the close of work on Tuesday, 19th May, 2021 for further necessary actions on part of the commission .
Assuring that elections will take place in the 33 constitutionally recognized local government  in the state from 8am to 3pm , he  said ” there shall be restrictions on human and vehicular movements throughout the time of the election.” It then tasked “all eligible voters to turn out en masse in the date of election” ,  assuring that their votes will count as the May 22, 2021 announced  by the commission as election date remains intact.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here