Odua Investment Chairman Bags UI Most Distinguished Alumnus Award


By; BAYO AKAMO, Ibadan

Odu’a Investment Company Limited Group Chairman, Dr. Segun Aina, OFR has bagged the Most Distinguished Alumnus Award of the University of Ibadan (UI) Alumni Association Worldwide.
The award is in recognition of Dr Aina’s invaluable contribution to the growth of Nigeria’s banking sector and human capital development in the country.
Dr Aina was represented by the Odua Investment Company Limited Group Managing Director, Mr Adewale Raji, who received the award on his behalf at the 2021 Luncheon and Award event held at Dame Edith Okowa Auditorium of the Alumni complex at University of Ibadan.
The event had four award categories: life-time achievement, worthy ambassador, most distinguished alumnus award and alumnus of the year 2020. Some prominent Nigerians were also honoured.
Speaking on the award, , Dr Aina who expressed his happiness over the award  declared that it will serve as a challenge for him to do more.
” The award is a challenge to do more. I am indeed proud of my alma mattar and the positive impact it made on my life journey. The University of Ibadan is the pre-eminent University in Nigeria in terms of existence and accomplishments.”
Dr Aina, Group Chairman Odu’a Investment Company Limited is a global professional banking leader, internationally rated fintech ecosystem enabler and thought leader, transformation expert, chartered arbitrator, respected futurist and a philanthropist.
In all 12 awards were given at the occasion, His Excellency, Professor Babagana Zulum, the Executive Governor of Borno State received the University of Ibadan’s Alumnus of the year 2020 award. Governor of Kwara State, His Excellency Abdulrahman Abdulrazak received a posthumous award for his late father.
The immediate past President of the University of Ibadan Alumni Association, Dr Kemi Anthony Emina had in his speech said the event was to celebrate excellence.
Important personalities that graced the event include the Executive Governor of Osun State, Alhaji Adegboyega Oyetola, former Governor of Borno State, Alhaji Kashim Shetima, former Minister of Health, Prof Isaac Adewole, Senator Mohamed Ali Ndume, Speaker of Borno State House of Assembly, Abdulkarim Lawan and Abubakar Kyari.
Others include the acting Vice Chancellor, University of Ibadan, Prof Ademola Babatunde Ekanola, Borno State Commissioner for Agriculture,  Bukar Talba and Special Adviser to Governor on Protocol, Alhaji Ahmed Sanda.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here