Anambra Super 8: Six Teams Progress To Next Round

Governor Obiano


Six out of 27 football clubs from different senatorial zones in Anambra State have qualified for the next round of the maiden edition of Anambra Super Eight tournament.

The clubs include, Smith City FC, Ifechukwu FC, Golden Biys FC, GP World FC, Pope JohnPaul FC, and Rangels FC.

Recall that 27 teams registered to be  part in the tournament put together by the Anambra State Football Association (ANSFA)

Four of the teams namely, Smith City FC, GP World FC, Golden Boys FC and Pope JohnPaul FC made it through to the bext round though penalty kick following a draw in their separate matches, while Ifechukwu FC and Rangels FC, qualified through regulation time. 

Two other teams from the losers bench will be join the team of 6 to joint to make it 8.

In separate interviews three of some team’s coaches, Smith city FC, Mr Chukwuneze Ezenwata, Mr Eric Obidinma of Pope Johnpaul FC and Mr Damian Okolo of Konti FC commended the organisers of the sporting event.

They expressed optimism that ithe outcome of the tournament would go a long way in revitalising the state football sector.

On his part, the Chairman, Local Organising Committee of the Super 8 tournament, Prince Oliver Ndigwe, said they would  find out the two teams that were the best losers from the three senatorial zones before they publicise next line of action.

He added, “This is just the beginning of a journey for us all in the development of grassroots football in Anambra state and together, we will succeed. 

“The expected news will be released after the coaching clinic being organised for all the coaches that took part in the tournament. 

“Our sponsor has been magnanimous enough to also reach out to assist the coaches in the game. More still to come and we intend to carry every genuine stakeholder along,”

The tournament which is sponsored by Aspire FC, Adazi-ani in Anaocha Local Government Area of the state is a grassroot tournament geared towards fishing out and grooming world standard players from the state.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here