You Are Not An Opposition Body To Govt, IPAC National Secretariat Warns Oyo State Executives

Engineer Seyi Makinde , the Oyo State Governor.

*as new Oyo State excos emerge

By; BAYO AKAMO, Ibadan

The National Secretariat of the Inter-Party Advisory Committee (IPAC) on Thursday cautioned its Oyo State council against turning itself to an opposition government in the state.
IPAC Deputy National Secretary, Mr Wale Martins handed down the warning in Ibadan while conductingthe election that ushered in Otunba Adegbenro Fagbemi as the new IPAC Chairman in Oyo State.
According to the IPAC National Secretariat, the body was not established for the purpose of becoming an opposition to the ruling government in their respective states.
“IPAC was not established to be an opposition against the any state government, we are to bring solution to assist government when there are challenges”, he said
The IPAC Deputy National Secretary added that should any of its council violated this, it will be taken up by the leadership of IPAC and appropriate steps will be taken by the law that established the council.
Speaking on the Oyo Council IPAC election, Mr Martins said the process was in line with the provision of the electoral act of the federal Republic of Nigeria, adding, that elections have been conducted in over 30 states across Nigeria adding, “each state tenure is only for one year, where new Exco are expected to emerge”.
The Deputy National Secretary said also the process will be transparent having had the requirements of at least half of the 18 registered political parties in Nigeria present for the exercise.
Speaking after his swearing in as the new Chairman of IPAC in Oyo state, , Otunba Fagbemi disclosed that his focus “is to harmonise all political parties and ensure unity and adequate representation.
Otunba Fagbemi assured that during his one year tenure, he will sustain the political space in a peaceful manner.
 Other executive that emerged at the election are Honourable Ighe John as Deputy Chairman, Mr Akinde Opeyemi as Secretary, Mr Olajide Mojeed as Asst. Secretary, Engr. Michael Gbeminiyi as Publicity Secretary, Mr Adewunmi Olowoniyi as Organising and Welfare Secretary, Igbinsola Paul as Financial secretary, Oladimeji Abass as Legal Adviser and Engr. Raji Olalekan as Treasurer.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here