Nasarawa Varsity Inaugurates Steering Committee For College Of Medical Sciences

Professor Suleiman Bala Mohammed, Nasarawa University VC.


The Vice-Chancellor of the Nasarawa State University, Keffi, Professor Suleiman Bala Mohammed has inaugurated a 9-man Steering Committee that will midwife the conceptualization and eventual take-off of the College of Medical Sciences in the University.

Professor Mohammed, while underscoring the need for the establishment of the College for Medical Sciences, informed the members of the committee that they will plan together on how to commence the programme and ensure that the University has a unique College of Medicine in Nigeria that will stand the test of time.

He stated that the University Senate had approved the establishment of the College of Medical Sciences at the main campus of the University using the former building of the Faculty of Environmental Science as the take off-site of the college. while contract for the permanent structure of the college has been awarded.

The Vice-Chancellor further stated that the University has gotten the approval of the state government and is ready to advertise and recruit new staff into the departments of Anatomy, Physiology, Medical Biochemistry, and Community Medicine.

He said that the equipment for the take-off of the College of Medical Sciences has been identified and will be procured with TETFUND allocations and through Internally generated revenue, adding that the University has also received pledges from organizations and public-spirited individuals.

The VC thanked the members for accepting the offer of availing the University their expertise and knowledge towards the establishment of the  College of Medicine.

In his acceptance speech, the Chairman of the Steering Committee and Chief Medical Director of the Federal Medical Centre Keffi, Dr. Yahaya Baba Adamu thanked the University Management for finding them worthy of serving in this capacity.

He said that Nasarawa State University Keffi is an institution that every other University is trying to measure up to, which is the reason why it has been attracting people from far and near, “hence the establishment of a College of Medicine in the University couldn’t have come at a better time than now”.

The Chairman assured the University management of the Committees unflinching support and commitment towards the realization of this very noble objective.

Members of the Committee include; Dr. Yahaya Baba Adamu Chief Medical Director FMC Keffi as Chairman, Dr. A.M. Rabiu, Department of Human Physiology, Federal University Lafia, as Member,  Prof. Daniel Ega, Medical Microbiology Department, University of Jos, Member,  Prof. Ali Shugaba, Department of Human Anatomy, University of Jos, Member and Dr. Anas Husainy Yusuf, Department of Human Physiology, University of Maiduguri, Member.

Others include Dr. Ishaku A. Bako,Department of Epidemiology & Community Health, Benue State University, Member,  Dr. Haruna Usman Liman, Head of Department of Surgery, ATBU Bauchi, Member, Dr. Peter Asaga, Universitats, Uniklinikum, Freiburg Institute for Human Virology, Member and Dr. Danjuma Sulei, G&S Specialist Clinic/Neuro-Muscular Rehabilitation Service, Maitama, Abuja, as Member.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here