el-Rufai Appoints Boards For Three Health Agencies

Governor el-Rufai in CoronaVirus isolation


Governor Nasir el-Rufai of Kaduna State has approved the appointment of boards for three agencies,   as part of the efforts to further strengthen the healthcare system.

 A statement issued by the Special Adviser on Media and Communication, Mr Muyiwa Adekeye said that  the boards  Kaduna State Primary Health Care Development Board (KSPHCDB), the Kaduna State Health Supplies Management Agency (KADHSMA) and the Kaduna State Bureau of Substance Abuse, Prevention and Treatment (KADBUSA) have been constituted.

According to him, Dr. Sani Muhammed Jibrin has been  reappointed as chairman of the Kaduna State Primary Healthcare Development Board and  Alhaji Ahmed Iya is member.

The statement recalled that Alhaji Ahmed  who represented   the Aliko Dangote Foundation, which has along with the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation,  strongly supported the state’s efforts in routine immunization and infant and maternal health.

‘’Other board members are Mukhtar Yunusa from Zaria LGA representing Zone 1, Yunusa Ibrahim Ajagu from Chikun LGA representing Zone 2, and Hon. Ruth Jummai Ango from Zango-Kataf representing Zone 3,’’ Adekeye added.

The Special Adviser said that  ‘’chairmen of Kubau, Kaduna South and Kauru local government councils will represent the three senatorial districts of the state on the board, with a representative each from the ministries of Health, Local Government Affairs, Environment and Education. ‘’

Adekeye also said that ‘’the Kaduna State Bureau of Substance Abuse, Prevention and Treatment, the Nigerian Medical Association and the Community Health Workers Association also have representatives on the board.’’

The statement also named  Professor Aliyu Musa from Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, as the  chair of the board of the Kaduna State Health Supplies Management Agency.

‘’Other members are Hajiya Umma Salihijo and the representatives of the three senatorial districts: Sulaiman Tambaya from Lere LGA, representing Zone 1, Jonathan Briyork from Kaduna South LGA, representing Zone 2, and Nancy Samuel from Sanga LGA, a representative of Zone 3.

‘’Regulatory agencies from the health sector are also represented on the board, including the Medical & Dental Council of Nigeria, the Nursery and Midwifery Council of Nigeria, the Pharmacists Council of Nigeria and the Medical Laboratory Science Council of Nigeria.

‘’The other board members are officers representing the ministries of Health, Justice, Finance and Local Government Affairs,’’’ the Special Adviser further said.

According to him, the  Commissioner of Health, Dr. Amina Mohammed-Baloni, will chair the board of the Kaduna State Bureau of Substance Abuse, Prevention, and Treatment.

‘’Other members are Malam Babangida Gachi, Dr. Oluwatosin Adekeye, Dahiru Auta Hunkuyi and Hajiya Hauwa Umar,’’ the statement added.

 Adekeye also said that  members representing the Commissioner of Police, the Correctional Service, the Federal Neuro-Psychiatric Hospital, Kaduna, and the Nigerian Medical Association are also on the board.

The Special Adviser also said that state ministries of Sports Development, Justice and Local Government Affairs are also represented on the board.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here