Nasarawa Govt, Assembly To Collaborate On Education, Urges Institutions To Be Transparent, Accountable

Nasarawa State Governor, Abdullahi A. Sule


The Nasarawa State House of Assembly Committee on Education said it will work hand in gloves with the State Government to improve education standard in the state.

The Chairman of the committee, Mr Daniel Ogazi,  disclosed this when the managements of Isah Mustapha Agwai 1, Polytechnic, Lafia and College of Agriculture, Science and Technology, Lafia visited the committee on an oversight function.

Emphasising the importance of education to societal development, the Law Maker stressed the need for continued partnership in that direction.

“We have decided to invite all of you in order to assess your budget performances and to enable us to know your various achievements with a view to addressing challenges if discovered.

“We want to ensure that there is an improved standard of education in the state, considering the importance of education to societal development.

“It is in view of this that the house will continue to collaborate with the State Government for improved standard of education.”

Ogazi told the management of the institutions to be transparent and accountable in their activities in the interest of peace and development.

He assured the committee’s readiness to tackling the challenges facing the academic institutions.

Earlier, Dr Ruth Jericho and Dr Musa Maikeffi, the Acting Rector of Isah Mustapha Agwai 1 Polytechnic, and Provost, College of Agriculture, Science and Technology, respectively, commended the committee for supporting the activities of their institutions.

They gave assurances of their commitments to be up and doing in their various institutions for improved education standard.

They, however, identified poor funding as the major challenge facing their institutions and solicited the assembly’s support in that direction.

The state’s Bureau for Information and Communication Technology, Lafia, led by its Director-General, Mr Ibrahim Shehu, was also hosted by the committee.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here