Indigent, Aged, Victims Of Rape In Jigawa To Access Probono Legal Services – NBA Chairman



The Jigawa Chapter of the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA) has inaugurated new exco’s for the next three years with a pledge to render legal services for indigent, aged and victims of rape, the new Chairman, Barr. Garba Abubakar has said.
Speaking during his post election speec, Barr. Abubakar also stated that, “we will accord priority attention on the promotion of Human Capital Development, promoting all inclusive bar, and promoting mandatory continuing legal education for members.”
Other pledges included mentorship scheme and capacity building for young lawyers, promotion of rule of law and good governance, as well as provision for probono legal services for indigent, aged and victims of rape.
He also pledged to collaborate with members of the branch executives in the next two years for continuity from where their predecessors stopped in the area of fostering unity among members, mentorship for young lawyers, as well as capacity building.
On internal conflicts bedevilling the bar, Barr. Abubakar stated that election is a process and whoever disagrees with its outcome should follow the proper legal process of challenging same as there are copious legal mechanisms to tackle such, rather than ex vacating the habit of self-help which would not yield any meaningful results.
Meanwhile, a statement from the National Secretariat of the NBA has exonerated itself from what it called the purpoted election’s of Jigawa branch of the NBA on grounds that the inaugurated constituted body to hold the elections were not contacted and given the manded to conduct such elections, stressing that us such, the election was null and void.
The statement reads, “the president of the Nigerian Bar Association, Paul Usoro, SAN has re- constituted the caretaker committee to handle the affairs of Dutse  Branch in line with article 11 of the uifrom Bye-laws branch for a period of three years.
Least amongst the list of the constituted electoral body include Muhammad Suleiman Tafida, Tijjani Inua Dutse, Muhammed Adamu Gausu, Jonah Chimezie, and Baffa Alhassan.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here