Ekiti, Kwara Win YSFON/CNS Football Tournament


 By; AYO OJEDOKUN, Lagos  

Ekiti and Kwara states were on Saturday crowned winners of the Chief of Naval Staff U-14 boys and U-17 girls football competition.

In an entertaining final decided at the Liberty Stadium Ibadan, Ekiti defeated hard fighting Kwara 1-0 to emerge winners in the boy’s category while Kwara got a redemtion through their girls who recorded 5-3 penalty victory over Rivers after their game ended 1-1 at regulation time  to emerge winners in the female category.

Declaring the tournament closed, the Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas who was represented by the Flag Officer Commanding Western Naval Command,  Rear Admiral Stanford Enock expressed happiness with the  quality, skills and standard of football displayed by all the participating teams, promising that Nigerian Navy will continue to support the championship just as he commended the government and people of Oyo State for being a good host.

” I’m highly impressed with the quality of football artistry displayed by these  young players. It’s an indication that our partnership with Youth Sports Federation is yielding good result and I want to assure you that the Nigerian Navy will continue to support this grassroots developmental programme which has produced national team players for the country and is poised to produce more talents in future 

” Kudos must also go to the government and people of Oyo State for creating an enabling environment for these young players to exhibit their talents”, he stated.

In his own remarks, YSFON President who also doubles as Deputy Governor of Kano State, Dr Yusuf Gawuna thanked the Nigerian Navy for being a wonderful partner with a promise that the Federation will not relent on it’s efforts at discovering young  talented sports men and women for the country.

Some dignitaries that witnessed the final were; representative of Chief of Army Staff , Major General O.O Soleye, General Officer Commanding, 2nd Division, Ibadan,  representative of Minister of Youth and Sports Development, Femi Ajao and a host of others. 

Winners of the tournament went home with a giant trophy and the sum of N50,000 while the runners- up got N30,000 and a trophy.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here