NURTW Yobe Council Holds 9th Quadrennial Delegates Conference

Yobe State

By; MAIDUGU ALI, Damaturu

The National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW) Yobe State Council has on Wednesday held its 9th Quadrennial state delegate conference.

The event took place at the Conference hall of the National Union of Teachers (NUT) Secretariat along Gashua road Damaturu.

New Nigerian Newspapers reports that while declaring the delegate conference open, Governor Mai Mala Buni commended efforts of the members of the National Union of Road Transport Workers Yobe State Council for the cordial relationship among its members and called them to maintain the tempo and conduct the election in a peaceful manner.

The Governor who was represented by the Permanent secretary ministry of works transport and Energy Alhaji Bako Adamu said, NURTW is one of the strongest Union in the country and one of the Unions that help in reducing unemployment especially among youths.

The National President of National Union of Road Transport Workers, Professor Adekunle Tajidun expressed gratitude to Almighty Allah for sparing their lives to witness this great event and called on the candidates to accept the out come of the election as an act of Allah and advised incoming EXCOs to join hands with the loser’s for the progress of the Union and the state at large.

The National president was represented by the Borno State Secretary of NURTW, Ahmed Khalid called on the security agents to support the Union to conduct it’s election peacefully such as the National Secretariat which conducted on 29th August 2019.

The returning officer of the election who is also Borno State Secretary of NURTW Ahmed Khalid explained that thirty six branches of the Union in the state which have five delegate each agreed and endorsed all the candidates as unopposed.

Therefore the returning officer of the delegates conference later announced that all the eighteen candidates have been declared winners as they were all unopposed.

Highlight of the occasion was administering oaths of office by Barrister Hassan Usman together with Barrister Muhammad Ngamurumi of S.M and Co-Chambers.

Those sworn in were Bulama Kagu Ali as Chairman, Rabiu Guna, Vice chairman and Ado Muhammad as treasurer.

Others include Assistant secretary, Trustees, financial secretary, Organizing secretary, Auditor among others.

Present at the occasion were representatives of Police Commissioner and Commandant Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps, Managing Director Damaturu International Cargo Airport Engr. Surajo Muhammad Wakil and representative of Chairman Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) among other top government officials.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here