Appeal Court Reserves Judgement In Case Of Ndoma-Egba, 16 Others

Senator Ndoma-Egba

By; VITALIS UGOH,  Calabar

Appeal Court sitting in Calabar,  Cross River State reserved judgement for Senator Victor Ndoma-Egba and 16 other cases in the state.
Ndoma-Egba is challenging the decision of the Elections Petition tribunal that confirmed Senator Sandy Onor of Central Senatorial District as the winner of the February 23 election. 
Other cases include that of Chief Alex Egbona of APC against the declaration of John-Gaul Labo of PDP by the tribunal for Yakurr/Abi,  that of Victor Abang of APC against Chris Agibe of PDP for Ikom /Boki Federal Constituency,  that  of Egbe Abeng Egbe of APC against Mike Etaba of APC for Obubra /Etung Federal Constituency,  Akiba Bassey Ekpenyong of APC against Mr Eta Mbora of PDP for Calabar Municipality/Odukpani Federal Constituency and others.
The new Special Appeal Court members  led by Justice Justice. T. Abubakar and P. O.Elechi, and A.A. Wambai as members of the appeal panel ruled for judgement for date yet to be determined after listening to all the submissions for the 17 cases that were brought before it.
Meanwhile the case which Mr Egbe Eworo, a factional candidate of the APC loyal to the former Minister of Niger Delta Pastor Usani Usani in a cross appeal in the case between Egbonna of APC and Labo of PDP was struck out as counsel to Eworo, Mr Lazarous Izabi-Udie had willingly withdrawn the case.
Consequently the judge said, “the suit is hereby dismissed and we order that the appeal is deleted from our list”.
Counsel to Ñdoma-Egba,  Chief Emeka Offodile (SAN),  Paul Erokoro (SAN) for Onor and other counsels had duly adopted their submissions before the cases were adjourned for judgement. 

The lower tribunal had on September 5 concluded all the cases at its disposal and the main issue in contention by the APC candidates was their exclusion from contesting the February 23 elections by íNEC while Labo was challenging the declaration of Egbonna by INEC as winner saying he was not a candidate of APC as the time of election.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here