Delta Governor Sends Names Of First Set Of Commissioners For Screening As Assembly Appoints Principal Officers

Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa, Delta State Governor
Delta State Governor, Ifeanyi Okowa has forwarded the names of eight nominees for appointment as Commissioners to the State House of Assembly.
The names of the nominees were read on the floor of the house by the Speaker, Rt Hon Sheriff Oborevwori at the first plenary of the 7th Assembly of the House after its proclamation by the governor.
The eight nominees who have been directed to appear for screening on Thursday this week include, Chief Patrick Ukah, Chief Festus Ochonogor, Rt Hon Basil Ganagana, Mrs Florence Alanta, Chief James Auguoye, Barr Peter Mrakpor, Mr Chika Ossai and Prof Patrick Muoboghare.
Meanwhile, the House has approved the Governor’s request for appointment of 15 Special Advisers in line with session 196, subsection one of the constitution of federal republic of Nigeria.
The approval followed the unanimous adoption of a motion to that effect by the Deputy Speaker, Rt Hon Ocho Ocho.
Dr Okowa stated that the appointment of the Special Advisers is to assist him in performance of certain executive functions.
Also, the State House of Assembly has been fully constituted with the appointments of principal officers of the house.
The appointments were made by the two political parties in the state, the People’s Democratic Party, PDP and All Progressive Party, APC which have their members in the house.
The PDP returned the Member Representing Isoko North, Tim Owhefere and the Member Representing Bomadi Constituency, Oboro Preyor as Majority Leader and Deputy Majority Leader of the house.
Also returned is Hon Pat Ajudua as the Chief Whip of the House, while Solomon Ighrakpata, Uvwie Constituency and Festus Okoh, Ika South were named Deputy Chief Whip and Majority Whip respectively.
For the two APC opposition seats in the house, the Member Representing Ethiope East, Hon Innocent Anidi was named Minority leader, while the Member Representing Ughelli North Ii, Constituency, Hon Moses Anaughe is the Minority Whip.
The appointments were announced during Tuesday’s plenary by the Speaker, Rt Hon Sheriff Oborevwori who also congratulated them for their choice by the political parties.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here