Adamawa NUJ Gets New Officials

Comrade Ishaka Donald Dedan of the Adamawa Broadcasting Corporation, Yola has emerged as the new Chairman of the Nigeria Union of Journalist (NUJ) Adamawa State Chapter.
He scored 66 votes to beat two  other contestants, Kate Aliyuda of the Adamawa Television Corporation who polled 47 and Umar Dankano of the People’s Daily Newspapers who got 33 votes.
The election which was conducted on Saturday at the NUJ Press Centre Yola under a peaceful atmosphere was supervised by officials from National secretariat of the NUJ.
Also, Mr Fidelis Jocktan of the Fombina FRCN emerged as the secretary with 85 votes to beat Emmanuel Njampri of the Sunrise newspaper who got 65 votes.
Other officials elected unopposed include Abdullahi Ibrahim of the Adamawa Television Corporation, Vice Chairman, Shekarau Yarima of Gotel communications, Auditor, Mary Adamu of NTA, Financial Secretary, Isa Tukur of Adamawa Broadcasting Corporation, Assistant Secretary and Felicia Amos Dauda of The Scope newspaper, Treasurer.
The oath of office was administered by Barrister Mohammed Abdullahi of the State Ministry of Justice.
New Nigeria reports that Certificates of returned was presented to the new leaders.
In his post election speech, the newly elected State Chairman of NUJ Comrade Ishaka Donald Dedan thanked God for his victory noting that power come from God.
The newly elected chairman, extended a hand of fellowship to the his fcontenders, urging them to support the new leadership in order to move the NUJ forward.
Dedan also disclosed that the new leadership under his watch will carry everybody along and called for prayers for a successful tenure.
In his remark, the Director General Media and Communication Government House, Yola Mr Solomon Kumangar expressed his willingness to work with the new leadership.
According to him, the state government is ready to assist the NUJ for optimum development and progress of journalists in the state.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here