Senate President: 51 APC Senators Backing Lawan – Buhari


By; BAYO AKAMO, Ibadan

The Chairman, Senate Committee on ICT and Cybercrimes, Senator Abdulfatai Buhari on Saturday said  51 of the 66 Senators elected on the platform of the All Progressives Congress have signed an endorsement list and pledged to vote for Senator Lawan, representing Yobe North District.

Senator Buhari who is the Senator representing Oyo North Senatorial District stated this while answering questions from journalists on a live interview ‘Political Circuit’ programme on Fresh FM Ibadan.

He stressed that not only have the 51 APC Senators pledged support for Senator Lawan to emerge in accordance with the directive of the party, about six others who are currently in Saudi Arabia for the lesser Hajj, would swell the number to make Lawan’s Senate Presidency a fait accompli.”

“The difference between the June 11 election and that of 2015 is that APC and its Senators are smarter now. The party is in charge. Unlike in 2015 when the numbers were close, the difference in number now makes APC to be in a comfortable lead.”, he said

Senator Buhari added, “we can go to bed with 51 Senators and wait for those who travelled outside the country to join to elect Senator Lawan. We did not sign [an endorsement list] in 2015. There was no cohesion in 2015, but now there is. In 2015, the Senate Presidency was not zone, but now APC has zoned it to the North-East and the Speakership to the South-West,”.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here