Maiden Western Nigeria Heads of Service Football Festival Holds July/Aug – Organisers

Minister of Sports, Barrister Solomon Dalung

By; BAYO AKAMO, Ibadan

The Chairman, Western Nigeria Football Forum, Barrister Seyi Akinwunmi has hinted that all is  now set for the commencement of the maiden Western Nigeria Heads of Service Football Festival .

Barrister Akinwumi dropped this hint while speaking at the inaugural meeting of the main organising committee held in Cocoa House Building office of Dawn Commission.

At the meeting, the committee requested that each state in the zone should hold its  preliminary  matches where winners will emerge for the final stage that will take place in Akure, Ondo State in July/August.

Speaking at the meeting,  Barrister  Akinwunmi, lauded the Heads of Service in the zone for their passion to develop the game, adding that the Festival will not only develop football in the zone but will cement the bonding among the states and help in discovering more talents, foster healthy relationship, build social capital among Ministries, Department and Agencies of State Governments and also become an effective structure for positive youth engagement in the Region and an avenue for the empowerment of young people for positive development of the region.

Barrister Akinwumi disclosed that in the festival, “each state in the zone will present two teams, one male and one female team to participate at the final stage to be graciously hosted by Ondo State later in the year and we plan to make this an annual event that will be rotational among the states in the zone in order to use football to engender deeper relationships between the states’.”

He added that “It will also feature mainstream Nigerian Artists as well cultural displays by the States'”

The Main Organising Committee members according to Akinwunmi are; 1. Mr Toyin Akinkuotu( HOS OndoState)-Co-Chairman ,
2. SeyiAkinwunmi; Co-Chairman,
3. Mr Seye Oyeleye ;DG DAWN Commission,
4. Mr Hakeem Muri Okunola (HOS Lagos State),
5. Eng. Olanrewaju Bisiriyu (HOS Ogun State),
6. Mrs Hannah Ogunesan, (HOS Oyo State),
7. Mr Ayodeji Ajayi,   HOS Ekiti State),
8. Dr Gboyega Oyebade,HOS State of Osun,
9. Otunba Tade Azeez, President,Nigerian Referees Association and
10. Alhaji Ganiyu Majekodunmi, Executive Member, NFF.

With Mr Akin Akinbobola, the Executive Secretary, WNFF acting as Secretary of the MOC.

In his remarks, Mr Akin Akinbobola assured that the maiden edition of the Western Nigeria Heads Of Service Football Festival will be hitch free, saying all hands are on deck to make it a successful event that will usher in a new dawn in Nigerian football history.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here