Ensure Smooth Governance In Oyo State Until Handing Over, Ajimobi Charges Transition Committee

Governor Abiola Ajimobi at the inauguration of the state Transition committee in Ibadan on Thursday.

By; BAYO AKAMO, Ibadan

Oyo State Governor, Senator Abiola Ajimobi on Thursday inaugurated a  26-man Transition  Committee for the May 29 handing over and inauguration of the state governor, elect, Engineer Seyi Makinde.

Inaugurating the transition committee at the Oyo state Executive Council chambers Governor’s office in Ibadan, Governor Ajimobi advised the committee members against disturbing but ensure smooth running of government in the state until the constitutionally  stipulated date of hand-over.

He stressed that his administration “ have carefully selected a team that we believe possesses a cooperative spirit and cerebral capacity for the job at hand,” saying, “worthy of note is that this is the first time that individuals in the Oyo state cabinet will be nominated by an incumbent government to serve as Transition Committee

“We make history again today as the first administration in Oyo State that the incumbent governor will inaugurate the Transition Committee comprising of representatives of both the incumbent and the incoming governments, more in a congenial atmosphere.” he said

Governor Ajimobi emphasized that the terms of reference of the committee is among others to “liaise between the outgoing administration and the incoming administration in the state with a view to ensuring a smooth transition arrangement” and “evolve the framework for the handing-over, and organize befitting handing-over and taking-over ceremonies.”

“I wish to emphasise that the major assignment of the Transition Committee is to organize befitting handing over and taking over ceremonies. It is not designed to disturb the smooth running of government until the constitutionally stipulated date of hand-over, though there may be needful clarifications.

Governor Ajimobi maintained that “the hand-over notes to be evolved shall be a farewell message of the incumbent government introducing the incoming Chief executive to the rudiments of his expected activities”, saying,  “the essence of the hand-over notes is therefore to serve as a platform for the take-off of the new administration in the reins of government.”

“Consequently, today’s event is another ‘koseleri’ in the annals of the history of our dear state. It is also pertinent to note that for the first time in the history of Oyo state, an incumbent Governor formally received in audience a governor-elect. These for us are not just stunts for making history but a demonstration of our strong belief in the true tenets of democracy, good governance, politics without bitterness and the ‘Ajumose’ spirit of collective responsibility. Hopefully, future administrations will sustain such a collaborative spirit and not make it ‘koselemo”

Representatives of committee from the government include Secretary to the State Government, Mr Olalekan Alli (Chairman); Head of Service, Mrs Hannah Ogunesan; Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice, Mr Seun Abimbola; Commissioner for Information, Culture and Tourism, Mr Toye Arulogun; and Commissioner for Environment and Water Resources, Chief Isaac Ishola.

Others include Commissioner for Agriculture, Natural Resources and Rural Development, Prince Oyewole Oyewumi; Commissioner for Health, Dr Azeez Adeduntan; Commissioner for Lands, Housing and Survey, Mr Isaac Omodewu;
Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Matters, Mr Abimbola Kolade; Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology, Prof Adeniyi Olowofela; Commissioner for Finance, Mr Abimbola Adekanmbi; and Commissioner for Works and Transport, Mr Wasiu Dauda.

Also on the list are the Special Adviser, Economic Planning and Budget, Dr Isiaka Kolawole; Special Adviser, Efficiency Unit, Dr Isaac Ayandele; Special Adviser, Security, Mr Segun Bolarinwa; Executive Assistant, Administration, Mr Soji Eniade; and Permanent Secretary, Civil Service Commission, Mr David Olatunde,  who will serve as the Secretary.

Those from the camp of the governor-elect were led by Senator Hosea Agboola, with Chief Bisi Ilaka, Hon Debo Ogundoyin, Miss Lolade Ajibola, Mr Adeniyi Babatunde, Mr Seun Ashamu, Dr Bashir Bello, Mr Wale Adepoju, Hon. Temi Adibi and Mrs Bosede Ayo-Famola, as members.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here