Home News Politics Ondo South: Ilaje/Ese-Odo Constituency Should Produce Next Senator

Ondo South: Ilaje/Ese-Odo Constituency Should Produce Next Senator

The people of Ilaje and Ese Odo local governments areas  in Ondo South Senatorial District are decrying marginalisation in the upper chamber of the National Assembly demanding the correction or otherwise of Senators produced by the three Federal Constituencies in recent times.
The spokes person of the District, Prince Boluwaji Ajijo in a statement which he made available to Journalists in Akure, the state capital, recalled that a good look at the history of the constituencies that have produced Senators in Ondo South senatorial District from 1979 till date evidently point at the undeniable fact that Ilaje/Ese-Odo Federal Constituency has been shortchanged.
According to him, Okitipupa/ Irele federal constituency was the first of the three constituencies to produce Senator Onukun on the platform of Unity Party of Nigeria (UPN) in 1979.
This constituency he said,  again produced Senator Boluwaji Kunlere on the platform of Labour Party in 2011 even as Senator Yele Omogunwa became the third senator produced by Okitipupa/Irele federal constituency and he was elected in 2015 on the ticket of PDP being the senator representing Ondo South senatorial district till date.
He also recalled that Odigbo/Ile-Oluji Federal Constituency has likewise produced three Senators for Ondo South Senatorial District having  Senator Akinbisehin as the first Senator produced by the constituency in 1983 on the platform of Unity Party of Nigeria (UPN).
 The second legislator to represent the district at the upper legislative chamber, Ajijo said was Senator Adebiyi Adekeye in 1992 on the platform of Social Democratic Party (SDP) while the third slot of Odigbo/Ile-Oluji Federal Constituency was utilised by Senator Meroyi in 1999 on the ticket of Alliance for Democracy.
The shortchanging of Ilaje/Ese-Odo federal constituency, he said,  continued until year 2003 when Senator Ehinlanwo was elected to represent the district at the upper legislative chamber on the platform of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).
 “Ehinlawo was reelected in 2007 on the same PDP ticket and he served until 2011. Even if it is deemed that Ehinlawo had served the term of two senators; the constituency had still being shortchanged by one senatorial slot”, Ajijo said.
He therefore protested that Ilaje/Ese-Odo Federal Constituency deserves as of a right to produce the next Senator for Ondo South Senatorial District in 2019 to enable the constituency level up with the two other federal constituencies if allowed to produce the next Senator for the district in 2019  adding that anything short of this would leave Ilaje/Ese-Odo constituency at a disadvantage of two senatorial slots.
He affirmed that Interests of equity and fairness can only be served and seen to have been served, if the federal constituency that is one Senator behind is allowed to level up with others in 2019.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here