Cabinet Shakeup: Nine Commissioners, Two Advisers Out in Nasarawa

Governor Almakura


Governor Tanko Al-Makura of Nasarawa State has announced a major cabinet shakeup which sends away nine commissioners and two special advisers.

This is contained in a statement signed by Mohammed Abdullahi, the Secretary to the State Government, and made available to newsmen on Sunday in Lafia.

Mr Abdullahi, who said the cabinet reshuffle took immediate effect, explained that the decision was to enable the affected persons focus on their political aspirations in the 2019 general elections and for others to pursue their professional careers.

The affected commissioners as Abdulhamid Kwarra of Ministry of Environment and Solid Minerals; Gabriel Aka’Ka, Ministry of Water Resources and Rural Development, and Mary Enwongulu of Ministry of Women Affairs and Social Development.

Others include Bamaiyi Anagba, Ministry of Youth and Sports Development; Daniel Iya, Health; Yusuf Usman of Information, Culture and Tourism, as well as Sonny Agassi of Lands and Physical Planning.

Also affected are Mohammed Yahaya of Ministry of Works, Housing and Transport; and Tanko Zubair of Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Cooperatives.

The statement  added that Jamil Zakari of Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources was redeployed to the Ministry of Information, Culture and Tourism.

The special advisers to the governor affected by the exercise were Hajarat Danyaro on Gender Relations, Rehabilitation and Disabilities; and Ado Dauda Mohammed on Community Based Relations/Conflict Resolution and Management

The statement further revealed that the erstwhile Special Adviser to the governor on Security, Mohammed Adeka, would henceforth handle Community Based Relations/Conflict Resolution and Management.

Meanwhile, Governor Umaru Al-Makura, thank the outgoing commissioners and special advisers for their services and wishes them success in their future endeavours.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here