CAA Asaba 2018: Okagbare, Dibaba, Other Great African Athletes To Be Inducted Into Hall Of Fame

Minister of Sports, Barrister Solomon Dalung
Nigeria’s queen of the tracks, Blessing Okagbare and other members of
Team Nigeria’s 4×200 quartet that won gold at the 2016 IAAF World Relay
in the Bahamas will be inducted into the Confederation of African
Athletics (CAA) Hall of Fame.
This accolade will be bestowed at the Welcome Dinner for athletes and
officials participating at the 21st African Athletics Championships,
Asaba 2018.
The event, organized by CAA and Delta State Capital Territory
Development Agency is slated for 5pm on July 31 at the Event Center,
The State Governor His Excellency Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa, IAAF President
Sebastian Coe, CAA President and members of his executive committee, top
government officials at Federal and State level, diplomats and the LOC
led by its Chairman Solomon Ogba will grace the occasion.
Other members of the team that will be inducted into the Hall of Fame
are Dominique Duncan, Regina George and Christy Udoh.
Apart from our golden girls, Olusoji Fasuba and Tosin Oke are two other
Nigerians that will be inducted into the Hall of Fame.
But it’s not going to be an all Nigerian affair, Olympics and World
Champion Tirunesh Dibaba from Ethiopia will be inducted into the Hall of
Fame, ditto her compatriot Mesert Defar who has also won medals at the
Olympics and the World Championships.
Other Ethiopians on the list include Genzebe Dibaba a world record
holder and champion, Almaz Ayana an Olympics and World Champions and
Kenenisa Bekele a legend in long distance, road races and marathon and
world record holder.
 South Africa duo of Caster Semenya and Wayde van Niekerk both Olympics
and World Champions will be inducted.
Also on the list are Kenyan trio of Vivian Cheruiyot, the king of 800m
David Rudisha and Ezekiel Kemboi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here