16 teams file out for Nimrod U-17 North West Volleyball Competition


No fewer than 16 teams will be featuring in the second edition of the Engineer Musa Nimrod North West U-17 Volleyball  Competition, which was declared open on Friday at the Ahmadu Bello Stadium, Kaduna.
According to the Zonal Sports Officer, Mrs Blessing Abu, the teams will be featuring in two categories, which are; states that make up the North West Zone and schools from Kaduna metropolis.
The states participating are Kaduna, Kano, Zamfara, Jigawa and Katsina State in male category and Kaduna, Kano and Jigawa states in the female category.
The schools featuring are Victory Academy, Airforce Secondary School, Bethel Baptist School, Faith Academy, Brain Trust Schools, Good Start Schools, Dagabs Schools and Excel Universal Schools.
In an interview with newsmen at the opening ceremony, Zonal Coordinator of North West, Federal Ministry of Youth and Sports Development, Alhaji Alli Bode Durotoye said that the competition was aimed at discovering young talents.
“We have two different categories this year and it is aimed ay grooming the players from the secondary schools, who while watching the states team play, will learn more and improve,” he said.
He said he was happy that the activities of the zonal office were yielding benefits in terms of discovering of talents from the grassroots.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here