State Of Emergency In Oyo SWAN, NEC Appoints Caretaker Committee

The National Executive Committee (NEC) of the Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN) has appointed a five-man committee to administer its chapter in Oyo State.
The Caretaker Committee, headed by Comrade Seun Ajayi-Obe, has Kabiru Abubakar, Saheed Babatunde, Sunday Agunbiade as members, while Tosin Omojola is to serve as Secretary.
The Committee is to serve for three months within which it is expected to lay foundation for the election of a new executive for the chapter in line with the Association’s statutes.
These decisions were reached following a letter from members of SWAN in Oyo State, who want participation in the association’s activities and recognition weeks after the Niyi Alebiosu-led executive detached from the activities of the Association.
The SWAN NEC directed the Ajayi-Obe led Committee to adhere strictly to the provision of the SWAN Statutes in the discharge of its duties and ensure that the yearnings of members are met as well as creating effective synergy with sports development partners.
NEC also urged members, the NUJ leadership and relevant partners of SWAN in Oyo State to work with the Seun Ajayi-Obe-led Caretaker Committee; just as the former Chairman is to immediately handover SWAN properties in his possession to the Committee Chairman.
The SWAN leadership called on members in other chapters requesting for recognition following the detachment of their executives to be law abiding as plans are in top gear to ensure that the existing vacuum created by the departure of the States Executive Committee(SEC) is not prolonged.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here