Oyo 2019: ADC Guber Candidate, Lanlehin Appoints Ex Accord Party Chairman, Lawal Campaign DG

Senator Olufemi Lanlehin, ADC governorship candidate in Oyo State.

By; BAYO AKAMO, Ibadan

African Democratic Congress (ADC) governorship candidate in Oyo State, Senator Olufemi Lanlehin has announced  former state chairman of Accord, Alhaji Bashir Lawal, as the Director-General of his campaign organisation.

This was contained in a statement issued by the Senator Lanlehin’s media assistant, Damola Adeoye, made available to newsmen in Ibadan.

The ADC governorship candidate in the statement described Alhaji Lawal as a grass rooted politician with vast knowledge of Oyo state politics  would be brought to bear in the task of coordinating Lanlehin’s campaign.

According to the statement,  the inauguration of Alhaji  Lawal and other members of the campaign organisation would be done shortly.

Alhaji Lawal was elected three times as chairman of Saki West Local Government Area of the state and was chairman of Accord for six years, is one of the closest political allies to a former governor of the state, Senator Rashidi Ladoja.

A Master of Science Degree holder in Architecture from the Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Lawal, it was gathered, rejected Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) senatorial ticket for Oyo North freely offered him from the Ladoja camp.

Meanwhile, loyalists of Senator Rashidi Ladoja in the 11 local government areas of Ibadan have reiterated their support for Senator Lanlehin and ADC, saying.  the decision, was reached at a stakeholders meeting of the Ladoja Political Group in Ibadan, on Thursday.

The Rashidi Ladoja loyalists maintained  that it was Senator Ladoja that  presented Senator Lanlehin to them as his preferred governorship candidate and would stand by the ADC guber candidate.

The meeting was attended by core loyalists of Ladoja, including Chief Laide Lanihun; Chief Solomon Ayansina; Honourable Babatunde Olaniyan; Ladoja’s younger brother and ADC candidate in Ibadan North Federal Constituency, Biola Ladoja; Chief Yetunde Ajibola; Chief Labisi; Alhaji Ado; Alhaji Wasiu Emiola; Minority leader, Honourable Akeem Ige; Honourable Segun Olaleye and all ADc candidates from Ladoja group.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here