Bauchi Swears-in 19 New Commissioners

Governor Abubakar of Bauchi State
Nineteen newly appointed commissioners were Wednesday sworn-in in Bauchi state by Governor Mohammed Abubakar in what was seen as a strategy to instil new life into the state governance ahead of the 2019 general elections.
Bauchi state has been without commissioners for eight consecutive months following the dissolution of the state former executive council by the governor mid-way into the first term tenure of the Abubakar led administration in the state.
Swearing-in the new executive council members, Governor Abubakar warned them to demonstrate exemplary leadership, and be steadfast and diligent in the performance of their duties.
He told the swearing-in ceremony held at the Multipurpose Hall Complex, Bauchi said that the appointments were based on merits, hence their allegiance should rest with the people of the state irrespective of ethnicity or status or religious backgrounds.
“We appointed people as commissioners with impeccable character, and the choices are on merits as the chief executives of their various ministries”, Abubakar told the crowded swearing-in hall.
He charged the commissioners, “I want to draw your attention to the fact that the State Executive Council is the highest decision making body for the state. You should be above board in all your endeavors and concentrate on the assigned duties,” he charged the officials.
According to him, the Constitution has clearly defined the roles they are to perform, hence there is no room for indulgence, embezzlement or dishonesty.
The governor also advised the new commissioners in the state to observe the principles of equity, fairness and justice as watch words in the discharge of their official duties, while accountability and prudence should be their new resolve.
He further advised them not hesitate to sack any appointees found wanting, as they were called upon to serve not to spoil the governance modus operandi.
The new commissioners are, Rifkatu Danna Samson- Commissioner of the Ministry of Enviroment; Rukaiya Ibrahim Kewa -Ministry of Women Affairs and Development; Haruna Deke Mohammed -Attorney General and Ministry of Justice; Umar Ibrahim Sade – Ministry of Information; and Pharmacist Ibrahim Madaki Sale, Ministry of Social Welfare, Youth and Sport.
The Ministry of Agriculture has Barrister Yakubu Kirfi as commissioner while Mohammed Mamud Abubakar takes charge of the Ministry of Rural Community Development; Ministry of Cooperatives and Entrepreneurs Development has Nasiru Babaginda Giade.
Muhammadu Sani Bashir is the commissioner in the Ministry of Power, Science and Technology; as Umar Ibrahim Mohammed takes charge of Housing, Land and Survey. Umar Abubakar Kazale is the commissioner in the Ministry of Commerce and Industry, while Garba Sarki Akuyum returns to his former Ministry of Finance, as Ado Sarki Aska takes onto the Ministry of Religious Affairs.
Others are Nasirudeen Mohammed, Ministry of local government; Dr Zuwaira Ibrahim, Ministry of health; Ibrahim Ayuba Suleiman, Ministry of Water Resources; Professor Haruna Danwanka, Ministry of Education while Musa Kaila Baima is the new commissioner in the Ministry of Social Minerals.
The State Deputy Governor, Engineer Nuhu Gidado who hitherto oversees the Ministry of Education is now redeployed to oversee the Ministry of Works and Transport.
The new dispensation of twenty commissioners for the state is in conformity with the number of twenty Local Government Areas in the state, thus making a representation of one for each area.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here